Crescent…

I finished the book a couple of days ago. This really was a brilliant read for me. As many books do tend to hold different meanings for different readers, this book perhaps touched me in a way that may not appear so relevant to someone else. To some it may be a straight-forward romance, to others its a story of family, and to others about our cultural fascination with food, around which our universe (particularly as women) seems to revolve. To me, this was the story of the Arab/Muslim immigrant–his loneliness, his dilemmas, his assimilation process, all of which are the under-told and mis-understood facets of our journey to a New World.
The author wove a fairy-tale into the beginning of each chapter, in which she told the story of a long-lost son by the name of AbdulRahman Salahdin, who makes his way from the deserts of Arabia to Hal’Awud. Its a tale replete with mermaids and jinn! But for me, the main crux of the story was a tale of how long a way we travel from our roots when we as human beings migrate to another land. And what a long way back it is to find our roots again. And it is perhaps always necessary to make peace with our roots before we can really succeed in the new-found land. She described the discovery of new cultures, the loneliness of immersing oneself into new societies, so beautifully and simply that I could not help seeing myself and many others I know in her descriptions. Really, this is a must-read, not only for the Arab/Muslim immigrant, but more so for those to whom we are still “foreign.”

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Couch Potato. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crescent…

  1. Niqabified says:

    Assalamualykum sis!

    I haven’t read the book you mentioned but only the review. Insha’Allah would love to give it a read once I get done with my exams. I’ve been a silent reader of your blog for a while now. I usually don’t comment because I feel a bit, err…exposed, lol. Anywho, when I read your ‘about me’, I decided to come out in the open.

    “I would love to hear from you, especially if you are a Muslim woman.”

    This is welcoming! So there you go…:)

  2. DigiN says:

    Hello there! I am so glad you came out in the open 😀 I especially love hearing from other niqabis, and those with blogs…well, that just makes my heart smile! Don’t worry about the err…exposure 🙂 Thanks for saying salaam!

  3. Amana says:

    Assalamu Alaikum,
    Keep on posting sister, I dont think I will ever tire of reading your blog …MASHA ALLAH 🙂

  4. Wa’AlaykumusSalaam! You are very sweet, and I will try to not disappoint you…forgive me when I fall short 🙂 wa barakAllahu feeki!

Comments are closed.