Story of Adam Alayhimussalaam

I was listening to the story of Adam Alayhimussalaam, and there were so many things of interest to be learned. I will merely summarize, since I am short of time, but I don’t want to forget what I heard…One describes the variety in humanity’s skin color, and the other was about our tendency towards error and forgetfulness

  • When Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala created Adam, he took clay from every part of the earth: red, white, brown, and everything in between. It was all mixed and a clay was formed with water. So, as descendants of Adam, some of us have the darker clay predominant, and some of us the lighter, and some of us the redder, etc. Hence even our skin tones can be traced back to Adam. 🙂 Sweeeettttt
  • When Adam AS was created, he was shown all of the humanity to come, and the one person towards whom his soul gravitated was Da’wood Alayhimussalaam. Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala had allotted Adam 1000 years for his lifespan, and when Allah showed him Da’wood AS, Adam said “Oh Allah, this creation of yours is so beloved to me, that I was want to gift him 40 years of my life.” Allah granted him this wish. 960 years later, the angel of death came to Adam, and asked permission to take his life (the Ambiya of Allah being the only ones whom the angels take permission from at the time of death), and Adam AS said, “But I have 40 more years left!” The angel reminded him of the 40 years he had bequeathed to Da’wood Alayhimussalaam, and so Adam remembered and consented to die.

Moral of this story: Adam forgot…and likewise his children forget. Such a big thing to forget! Yet, when we hear one another say “I forgot to do xyz!” don’t we have the tendency to say, “Yeah, good excuse! How could you have forgotten? Impossible!” Well, maybe not impossible…if Adam Alayhimussalaam could forget giving away 40 years of his life, then surely my brother could have forgotten something so completely insignificant as filling the gas tank!

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Thats Life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Story of Adam Alayhimussalaam

  1. Inkpot says:

    Wow, I really liked the clay bit. By the way, I think you might benefit from this wonderful website

    http://www.edars.com

    Its got brilliant bayans, especially MI Sindhi’s.

    jazakallah!

    salams.

  2. DigiN says:

    Wa alaykum salaam, and jazakallah Khair! I will give that site a try, inshallah!

Comments are closed.