The Zoo

OK, so it was not the zoo, as alzubra is currently pointing out. It was actually the Wild Animal Park, but its the same difference, right? I loved it…except that it really disturbs me to see caged animals, because it really is kind of…cruel, you know? Well, at least the animals here are not really caged, they are separated from us human animals by being in a sort of island, but anywhooo. I am no animal rights freak, because I really think human rights need to be perfected first…which brings me to my next point.

All through our wanderings around the park, they had the little write-ups about each animal, and I swear to God, it seems like every animal on the planet is becoming extinct. And the Park is doing their best to save them. Which is cool. But…we were taking the “safari” train through the park, and the guide driving was telling us about the almost extinct Tibetan Kiang, the endangered Somali Wild Donkey, the not quite extinct Indian Rhinoceros, etc., and I got to thinking. How come we care more about animals being offed from the planet while people are being massacared like its going out of style? I mean, where the hell are the priorities? Am I way out of line here? I know, this was the zoo, and conservation of wild-life is their thing, and I do appreciate seeing these wonders of Allah Subhanahu Wa Ta’ala, but there is such a thing as overkill, no? *pun not intended!*

About the animals themselves: The birds have some of the most of amazing colors. Great inspiration for picking colors when I am sewing and embroidering.

The gorillas made me sad…I expected them to scare me, but SubhanAllah, they looked so sad. I don’t think they like being stared at! Well, I wouldn’t either!

The lion was the most amazing creature ever. This guy was laying in the corner, yawning away. Then he decides to show off a little bit. He gets up, walks over to the middle of the field, and stands there posing and staring back at us. There was this Jeep sitting there, giving a realistic feel of Africa, stripped of its windows and doors. The lion wanders over to the Jeep, leaps onto the hood, with front legs up on the roof, hind legs on the hood, face towards the audience, in this pose that just screamed “Kodak moment!” He waited just long enough for the oh-so-perfect shot to be snapped, and then settled on the roof, looked at us all once, then turned his head away. Diva! ๐Ÿ˜€
The elephants are so big, they would intimidate you if it weren’t for the fact that a)they have a perpetual happy grin; b)they have gorgeous, velvety, kind eyes; and c)they were feeding each other hay. So absolutely adorable!

Well, I am glad we got year-round tickets, because that was honestly one of the better ways to spend my day! Animals have a magically calming effect on your spirit–so long as they are 20 feet away. ๐Ÿ˜† They mind their own business, do their things the way that Allah wants them to, and know their limits! Maybe if you peeps ask nicely enough, alzubra will post pics. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Zoo

  1. interested in the “kodak moment” with the lion pic
    i say post! peweeeez ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. alzubra says:

    Hehehe…Should I, shouldn’t I? Oh, decisions, decisions. ๐Ÿ˜ฅ

    Of course I will. Its my only chance to proove to DigiN I’m actually nice! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Repartee! says:

    alzubra: Only a psychic commends and makes comments on his/her own works him/herself or on other’s works after coming back to his own backyard like a drunkard. Stupid!

  4. Repartee!: Please get a new name, coz the name Repartee! really does not suit you. And then try your comment a second time, in English that is understandable. And leave the name-calling for your real-life friends. Thanks!

  5. alzubra says:

    Repartee!: Sure, just to save you the bother, I’m a “her”, as you can tell my name is in the feminine. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I wish I could understand what you said. But thanks for the comment anyhow… ๐Ÿ˜‰

  6. alzubra.. I dont think that was a positive comment by Repartee :/

  7. miss_independent: alzub does not realize yet that her sarcasm will not come across very well in writing! ๐Ÿ˜†

  8. If only there were more people in the world like the Zoo managment, who’d value human life. These people make everything in the world seem to revolve around animals. Plus they are so set in their aims and so concerned for the animals. It just makes you wonder which one was the ashraful makhlooqat?lol

    An imbalance of anything is not healthy. So is the case here. Wonderful narration! I’m looking forward to see the pictures:)

    ‘The birds have some of the most of amazing colors. Great inspiration for picking colors when I am sewing and embroidering’

    LOL…but a great idea, really!

Comments are closed.