Rejuvenated!

I don’t know what just happened to me, but it feels like I just snapped out of an endless period of lethargy. For the last ten months or so, I have been so lazy, with so many things to do, and absolutely no will to do any of them. I have been smiling and laughing (happily), not depressed or down or anything. And when I did get to doing the things I wanted to do, I got just this slight pang of satisfaction–not that long-lasting sense of overwhelming joy one gets on a job well done. I did a search yesterday to see what are the causes of fatigue and lethargy, and this is what they had to say:

There are many possible physical and psychological causes of fatigue. Some of the more common are:

  • Anemia (including iron deficiency anemia)
  • Sleep disorders like ongoing insomnia, obstructive sleep apnea, or narcolepsy
  • Ongoing pain
  • An allergy that leads to hay fever or asthma
  • An underactive thyroid (hypothyroidism)
  • Use of alcohol or illegal drugs like cocaine, especially with regular use
  • Depression or grief

Fatigue can also accompany the following illnesses:

  • Infection, especially one that takes a long time to recover from or treat, like bacterial endocarditis (infection of the heart muscle or valves), parasitic infections, AIDS, tuberculosis, and mononucleosis
  • Congestive heart failure
  • Diabetes
  • Chronic liver or kidney disease
  • Addison’s disease
  • Anorexia or other eating disorders
  • Arthritis, including juvenile rheumatoid arthritis, which affects children and teens
  • Autoimmune diseases such as lupus
  • Malnutrition
  • Cancer

Well, out of that whole list, only two have potential merit: anemia and grief. Anemia is an ongoing thing for me, as I am not a meat-lover; and grief is normal when people close to you die. Oh, and malnutrition too, since I have been way too lazy to eat properly. But, then again, I wouldn’t call my low appetite malnutrition.ย  However, I did not even realize I was feeling lethargic and fatigued…until this week. ๐Ÿ˜• Its pathetic to be that completely out of touch with your own self! I thought I was just being lazy! I figured I needed something new to do, hence this blog was taken up…

But this Monday, I woke up and actually felt a deep-rooted sense of happiness to wake up and see another day. Life all of a sudden felt full of all kinds of mundane and extra-ordinary possibilities. And yesterday, when having breakfast, this one word popped into my head and started blinking like a neon sign: NORMAL! And I smiled because, yes, life is suddenly normal. I did not realize it was abnormal before…

Does anybody know what I mean? Or am I just completely weird? Its okay, I can handle the truth. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life!, Think About It. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Rejuvenated!

  1. hahaha, wow that’s new for me. But I’d love to have that cute blinking NEON in my head saying; “Its great to be you”

    Glad to know you’re up on your feet again. Revolutionize the world!

  2. I will settle for revolutionizing just good old me right now! And for now, just settle for this, from the bottom of my heart: It would be great to be you! ๐Ÿ˜€

  3. Si1entear says:

    Grief, maybe.. but after reading the above, i’m beginning to wonder if I have a sleep disorder of some kind! I feel disturbed.. perhaps I’m just a hypercondriac, a worrier! Have I become the type of person I would most despise becoming?? lol

    Anyhoo, thanks for the read sis ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. alzubra says:

    LOL…darling, you’re seeing things! ๐Ÿ˜› As long as you feel normal though. *hugs* ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. Yeah, I am seeing things…but what’s new? ๐Ÿ˜ฏ :-*

  6. Silentear, I am sorry for not responding to this comment! WordPress pulled a job on us and marked some comments as spam ๐Ÿ˜• No, no, you are not disturbed, don’t worry. Its me that is the disturbed one (but you could already tell that ๐Ÿ˜ฏ ).

  7. silentear says:

    Ahh its ok ..When the post failed to pop up on screen I thought for a moment that I’d been blocked for doing something silly ๐Ÿ˜ (not that I would ever be capable of such a thing ๐Ÿ™‚ )

  8. Pingback: Iftaar at my place « Digital Niqabi

Comments are closed.