What do you find when you look?

I looked at all friends and did not find a better friend than safeguarding the tongue. I thought about all dresses, but did not find a better dress than piety. I thought about all types of wealth, but did not find a better wealth than contentment in little. I thought of all types of good deeds, but did not find a better deed than offering good advice. I looked at all types of sustenance but did not find a better sustenance than patience. [Umar (rad)]

Safeguarding the tongue is such great advice–the less I speak, the less mayhem I can cause!

If you cannot be of benefit to the Muslims, then do not harm them; if you cannot make them happy, then do not make them sorrowful; if you cannot please them, then do not abuse them; and if you cannot praise them, then do not disparage them. [Yahya ibn Mu’adh]

Watch your eye, should it ever reveal to you the faults of others, say to it: “O my eye, other people have eyes too.” [Ahmad al Zarruq]

Judge myself before I judge others, inshallah!

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Quotables. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What do you find when you look?

  1. ala says:

    Assalaamu’alaykum Warahmatulahee Wabarakatuhu,

    Another awesome post, jazakillahu khairan. The last one is actually my signature for a lot of things… The first time I heard it, it was said that Ahamd al Zarruq said it too.. but he might have just been quoting from Shafi3i, as its a poem of his..

    Let not your tongue mention the shame of another | For you yourself are covered in shame and all men have tongues.
    لسانك لا تذكر به عورة امرئ | فكلّـك عورات وللناس ألسـن
    If your eye falls upon the sins of your brother | Shield them and say: “O my eye! All men have eyes!
    وعينك إن أبدت إليك معايباً | فدعها وقل : يا عين للناس أعينُ
    -Imam Ash_Shafi’i

    btw, Jazakillahu Khairan for the kind post on my site 🙂

    ala

  2. Wa Alaikum Salaam wa Rahmatullah wa Barakatu, Ala,
    That’s pretty interesting, thanks for sharing that poem from Imam Shafi’i! It makes for a beautiful daily reminder, to control the tongue from speaking ill, and the eyes from observing wrongs. And Jazakallah Khair for having such an informative site! 🙂

Comments are closed.