I clearly have issues

I really abhor embarrassing moments, and anyone who knows me, knows the extensive lengths I go to in order to avoid even the smallest bit of embarrassment. So, what happened to embarrass the life out of me?

I was talking to a customer service person over at the cell phone company–which, by the way, lost an order I placed for an additional line to be added to the existing plan, and yes, this is a major corporation I am speaking about *cough Cingular cough*–and wow, did I just digress or what?! Well, back on topic…I was talking to this person, and I was completely sure it was a man, but then again, it could have been a woman, and he or she neglected to tell me his or her name–or maybe I just didn’t pay attention to it ๐Ÿ˜ฏ So, I was determined to never say either sir or ma’am throughout the entire conversation. And I was good, I swear I was…until I said, “Thank you very much for your assistance

*appreciate this*

*are you ready now?*

*how about now?!*

ma’am! I really appreciate your time!”

From the 2 second pause (which felt like an eternity!) that followed, before he said, “No problem, have a good day now” I think I made a big mistake. Not to mention that it was not daytime when I called–it was anytime between 8 to 12 pm, depending which time zone he was in! Ohhhh, the humiliation. I knew better than to do that! At least it was not face to face. ๐Ÿ˜•

Maybe he thought I said “man” and was thinking *such bizarre business etiquette*. Or maybe he thought I have the definitions of ma’am and sir reversed. And maybe that has happened before to him, and I have just added to his trauma.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Ramadaan '06. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I clearly have issues

  1. Muslim Wife says:

    Awww, (((hugs))), come here ukhti, no need to be embarrased!
    It’s not your fault that you just couldn’t tell, and you’re right, it would have been a LOT worse if you were in person and weren’t sure if it was a man or woman,lol! Your story is still funny though, hehe.

    Hope your Ramadan and fasting have been superb, may Allah accept from us our deeds, ameen! *muah!*

  2. haha.. it’s ok.. some guys have girly voices!! ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. alzubra says:

    LOL…DigiN, you never fail to bring a smile to my face…even though you just wiped the smile of that poor guys face. ๐Ÿ˜† :p

  4. Muslim Wife, Shukran my sweet sister! I have a story about not knowing the gender face to face; I was so deeply traumatized, I figured nobody else needs such scars, so I kept it to myself…maybe after Ramadaan ๐Ÿ˜ฏ Ameen to your lovely duas, and thanks for the hugs! *kisses*
    Rebellious, ahhh well, I guess it is ok coz I ain’t never gonna hear from this person again (inshallah!) ๐Ÿ˜† And, I mean, really, how was I to knowwwww?!
    Alzubra, you know me: wiping out the smiles from guy’s faces, one man at a time; its almost like a mission for me ๐Ÿ˜•
    Everybody else, And how come nobody tried to convince me that, awwww, maybe it really was a woman? I spent all night trying to tell myself that! I woke up and faced reality though, don’t worry! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  5. hahaha…hilarious. Poor guy. But I think he’s probably had many embarassing moments. Generally, i’ve learnt that people aren’t really good with voices. Everytime I pick up the phone, no matter who it is, my mum/dad/siblings or relatives they always mistake me for my 10 year old ‘brother’. Can you imagine that? I’m 19 years old! Almost twice that brat’s age. Even the way my brother talks is very child-like. I always wonder why they mistake it. That brother’s name is Saad actually. He has a very irritating friend who keeps calling him asking him to come out and play. Anyway, once he called and I didnt want my brother to attend the phone because he would have left immedietly. Anyway knowing my voice history on phone, I tried to put it to test and told his friend that I dont want to come, I’m busy, I’m doing homework and some other excuse. And guess what, his friend was totally fooled! As pleasing as it was, later I cringed with embarassment myself while thinking abt it, heh.

  6. Writer’s Creek, no, you didn’t do that to the poor kid! ๐Ÿ˜† Your ‘brother’ sounding girly makes sense, coz of his age; but yeah, I see why you would be distressed. I am still giggling that the other kid was fooled so well! ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. alzubra says:

    Oh, Writer’s Creek, you made me almost laugh out loud, which I would have done if I didn’t fear looking like a lunatic for laughing at the computer screen. ๐Ÿ˜€

Comments are closed.