Hypothetical Situations

Sayyidina Umar ibn Khattab (Radiallahu Anhu) was once presented with a question, and he asked, did this happen? The questioner replied saying no it didn’t happen. Sayyidina ‘Umar (Radiallahu Anhu) stated, go back, when it happens, then come back and ask us and I will gather for it those who participated in Badr.

The Sahabah did not waste their time answering questions for situations that did not happen. Why should they worry about hypothetical situations, when real cases need to be paid attention at? Not only that, they would gather a shura together, and agree upon a correct verdict rather than simply answering the question themselves out of fear of Allah in regards to giving the wrong answer.

Yet today, we ask questions for matters that don’t have much concern to us, except that it helps us waste time dwelling on purposeless matters so that we can shift the focus from real issues. We also so easily rush to answer questions, under the pretext that we’re doing it for the sake of Allah. How can we be doing it for the sake of Allah, when we don’t even know the answer?! 😕

About Thê Talkïng Pïnhêad

Just another girl who writes stuff, who thinks the world is screwed up, who believes things can change, who knows it most probably won't.
This entry was posted in Islamically Inclined, Thats Life!. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hypothetical Situations

  1. Muslim Wife says:

    Oh my goshhhh, I know exactly what you mean! I know I must be guilty of this myself, cuz I suck like that, but the first that came into my mind when I read this (well besides the hadith mentioned below) is those questions that ALWAYS come up at lectures. You know, the ones people ask about slaves or mut’ah or something else equally as irrelevant to their lives. I mean come on people!

    Abu Hurayrah, may Allah be pleased with him, narrated that the Messenger of Allah, salallahu alaihi wasalaam, said:

    “A sign of one’s excellence in his Islam, is ignoring what does not concern him.”(Ahmad, Malik & At-Tirmithi)

  2. The other thing that gets to me, beyond the hypothetical questions, is the hypothetical predictions and speculations about somebody else’s life! You know the type: If I were that woman, I would be so happy. I don’t why she isn’t satisfied with her life! Its like, how do you know you would be on top of the world in someone else’s life? You don’t really know alllll her life’s happenings…so what’s the point of such talk?

    So yeah…I hear you! Nice story, with a good point.

  3. Co-signing what Muslim Wife said!

  4. Faith says:

    I soo agree 100%. Especially when the hypothetical questions are most unlikely to happen.

  5. Bateeka says:

    SubhanAllah, i was just discussing this same topic with my sisters yesterday 🙂

    jazaki Allah,

  6. Muslim Apple says:

    I find most question and answer sessions to be painful, especially when the question asked was already explained in the lecture or when the person seems to be just asking for the sake of asking or when the question asker or answerer seems obligated to go on speaking indefinitely. There is definitely a tyranny of the microphone.

  7. Muslim Wife says:

    ‘tyranny of the microphone’, hehe, good one. More and more often, though, they are opting for writing down the questions on paper and then chosing what to answer. Usually it works out good.

Comments are closed.