Don’t worry, be happy?

Five simple rules to be happy:

  1. Free your heart from hatred (i.e. forgive)
  2. Free your mind from worries (most never happen).
  3. Live simply and appreciate what you have.
  4. Give more.
  5. Expect less.

I saw the above on Qisas.com, and was compelled to agree–in quote form–so here is my version:

  1. Forgive your enemy, but never forget his name. [JFK]
  2. If worry were an effective weight-loss program, women would be invisible. [Nancy Drew]
  3. Make everything as simple as possible, but not simpler. [Einstein]
  4. Generosity is not giving me that which I need more than you do, but it is giving me that which you need more than I do. [Khalil Gibran]
  5. Expect everything, and only from Allah. And He provides for him from (sources) he never could imagine. And if any one puts his trust in Allah, sufficient is (Allah) for him. For Allah will surely accomplish his purpose: verily, for all things has Allah appointed a due proportion. [Qur’an 65:3]
About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Quotables. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Don’t worry, be happy?

  1. Someone says:

    those are the most awesomest (is that a word?) and easiest rules…..I guess it’s only a matter of following, eh?

    great post

  2. Waqy…just a matter of following. if only I had more consistency!

  3. Dont agree
    1. Free your heart from hatred (i.e. forgive) – walaa’ wal baraa’
    2. Free your mind from worries (most never happen). – you worry about your actions all the time

    Totally agree
    3. Live simply and appreciate what you have.
    4. Give more.
    5. Expect less.

  4. Bateeka says:

    Aslamu aliakum,

    that was a lovely and cute post!

    danishalhyderabadee- you free your mind from worries that you can not control becuase you believe Allah is the Just, the Compassionate, the Sustainer, the One who Brings Victories, The Wali, etc. You rely on Him and thus you don’t wear yourself down by worrying over things you can’t control..

    wa alykum as salam

  5. queenie says:

    I love the Nancy Drew quote 🙂
    You’ve been tagged!

  6. Someone, Writer’s Creek “only” a matter of following 😕 thats the tough part…2 and 4 are the toughest for me, I think.

    danishalhyderabadee, I thought the same as you on first glance…and then I came to see differently. Its pointless to hate, and forgiveness is key to moving on from disappointments and betrayals that life sends your way. Its the only way you can really learn your lessons and apply them. My two cents 🙂 And what is walaa’ wal baraa’ please? 🙂

    Bateeka, so true about the worries part of that. MashaAllah! but I still find myself worrying sometimes 😕

    queenie, woohoooo! 😀 I like it!

  7. Em says:

    Salaams

    Very true!

Comments are closed.