2006…

…comes to an end. What happened this past year?

  • All Muslims had an emotionally earth-shattering Eid al-Adha.
  • There were personal disappointments that rather shocked me.
  • I discovered betrayal like never before.
  • I had the best Ramadaan ever spiritually, and the worst one personally.
  • I did not exercise as much as I should have.
  • I spent way too much time on the computer.
  • I started this blog to see how much persistence and determination I can build.
  • I found a thesis topic that I actually love.
  • Lovely new people came into my life, all thru this blog, in some way or another.
  • I kept re-discovering how much I hate hypocrisy and why.
  • I have moved from being a news junkie to a blog-junkie.
  • I miss my grandmother, and fear her death.
  • I bought the camera of my dreams, even though it is a couple years old on the market. Just because of the 10x zoom. Woohoo.
  • I did not sew enough.
  • I turned my room upside down three times. I think I am happy with the current arrangement.
  • I read quite a few self-help books.
  • I gave my niqab a designer touch, by monogramming my initial onto it. Dunya dunya dunya…but I do like the designer touch.

Being a work-in-progress is exhausting…but exhilarating too, alhamdulillah.

I have no New Year’s Resolutions…as usual–ever notice how the resolutions to lose weight disappear after a couple weeks…yet the habits formed during Ramadaan become real resolutions: we strive to maintain the good deeds, and amaze and chastise ourselves when we find ourselves slipping. Such is the barakah of actions rooted in Islam, inshaAllah.

May Allah show us as Muslims better days, and give us all the fortitude to become better servants to Him. May Allah ease our world-wide sufferings, grant our people justice and fairness, and enable us to seek the rightly guided path. May we always have “La ilaaha illallah, Muhammad al Rasulullah” in our hearts and on our tongues. Ameen.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Too Tired to File. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2006…

  1. sheryza says:

    Salams and Eid mubarak to you both!
    I love this blog and maybe its because everytime i read it you guys are so much like me. I love this blog. I just read that post and i have been feeling the exact same way! all the things you just listed just hit me like bam! hey i guess great minds think alike! love you guys man. take care hope you both had a great eid!

  2. K says:

    Ameen to the Dua you made.

    And this year you blogrolled me, Thanks!

  3. It was a better year than it seems. I learned a lot alhamdulillah, even when it hurt at the time learning those things. I got more mature, and less air headed as time passed. At time I faced the usual battle of being a teenager, where you feel nobody understands you and thinks you’re too naive and overly ambitious. :p

    I dunno what I’m rambling about, but it sounds good… Anyways, I hope the year of us is a better and productive one inshaAllah for us all. 🙂

  4. ZawjatuZakaria says:

    Asalamu Alaikum

    I love the name..DIGITAL NIQAABI! lol

  5. Zakaria says:

    Ameen to the duas.

  6. sheryza, JazakAllah Khairfor the wonderfully kind words 🙂 I am glad that you like this blog and that at least a few things have resonance with a few souls out there. Eid was blessed, alhamdulillah, and I hope it was for you too.

    K, actually, I blog-rolled you last year 😛 You are welcome, and thanks for having such an informative blog.

    Digital Jewel, never really noticed your air-headedness…sooo hmmmm 😛 As for the “nobody understands you etc.”, that never goes away…it just progresses from feeling it to knowing it :p I kid, I kid!

    Well, inshaAllah, if we take our lessons learned seriously, it might help make it a better year.

    ZawjatuZakaria, Wa Alaikum Salaam! Welcome to the blog and I am glad you like the name…Shukran 🙂 Hope to read more of you inshaAllah.

    Zakaria, I was going to say welcome…then realized you’re an old-timer (:

Comments are closed.