The magic is black, I

Is witchcraft really a craft? I think we need another name for it, like witchness, or something…something that doesn’t make it sound so danged distinguished. But I can’t think of anything coz it’s 2 in the morning, and this is a topic that has been bugging at me for a couple months now, and I just have to get it off my chest.

You know, if there was one thing I thought we as Muslims would not have to worry about in this country, it would be black magic. I mean, we have so many other things to worry about: making a living, seeing to our kids’ secular and religious education, integrating into society without making waves, overcoming negative stereotyping…all of that on top of leaving behind fairly luxurious lifestyles in the old country where the homes are huge, come with a couple of maids, a gardener, and a live-in security person. So, in between working, caring for the kids, and scrubbing the kitchen floor, would we expect anybody to have the time or the wherewithal for a foray into witchery? I would not. Yet, I hear stories of this nature all the time. Sometimes, depending on the story-teller, I am inclined to dismiss it as hyperventilation…because, you know, it’s that lady who manages to see shadows in the wide open spaces beneath a sunny sky. So, of course, I take it with a grain of salt sometimes, thinking to myself, Allahu ‘aalam, may Allah forgive and protect her ameen, and I move on, never really feeling like this stuff is out here in massive enough quantities to actually affect me, one who rarely goes out.

Until one day, when the bizarre happened to me. Me, the not-very-paranoid. Me, the quite-analytical. Me, who has nothing anybody would want, or envy, or need. Me, who has not (I hope) trampled on anybody’s toes, who has not, Alhamdulillah, made any enemies. Yet, I got so horribly sick, so suddenly, and with absolutely no medical cause, that I literally begged for the ability to breathe. And I realized that this is not something we have left behind in the old country, along with our family, and friends, and loved ones…and not-so-loved ones. And I got to thinking how horribly astray a person who professes to be a Muslim must be (may Allah guide us and keep us on Al Siraat al Mustaqeem), how deeply they must feel the need for power, that they would harm people with absolutely no cause. And I got to thinking, “what does Islam say about such people? And how much hope should we place in people who say they can cure black magic illnesses?”

You all probably know I don’t like writing long blog-posts, and this has gotten surprisingly long already…so I will save the rest for the next post, inshaAllah. Don’t feel shy to give me your input, in the meantime, inshaAllah. 🙂

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The magic is black, I

  1. Nisa says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum sister

    InshaAllah I pray that you are feeling better…while black magic is a reality, it doesn’t mean that an unexplained illness or the like is the direct result of someone meddling.

    Often Allah swt tests us with trials, tests, be it through our family, our health or wealth..being ill is a blessing in disguise, for if one exercises patience, then it is a means of purification for them inshaAllah.

    Keep reading ayat ul kursi after every salah and the three last surahs…may Allah swt protect you and all of us from the evil eye and all things which seek to harm us, Ameen.

    Wassalaamu ‘alaikum
    Your sister

  2. Wa ‘alaykum salaam, Nisa, and welcome to our humble virtual abode! 🙂 Alhamdulillah, by the grace of Allah Subhanahu wa Ta’aala and the du’as of the special people in my life, I am better. Psychologically, I still feel the residual effects, i.e. not so willing to meet with new people…but at least I can breathe easily!
    “Often Allah swt tests us with trials, tests, be it through our family, our health or wealth..being ill is a blessing in disguise, for if one exercises patience, then it is a means of purification for them inshaAllah.”
    The whole time I was inexplicably ill, that is all I kept hoping…for Allah knows better than any how much I do need purification. So, alhamdulillah for everything.

    And jazakiAllah khayr for the excellent and always useful advice…ameen!
    Thank you for a very beautiful comment, mashaAllah 🙂

  3. Nisa says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum dear sister

    Ameen wa iyyaki! Alhamdulillah, I’m glad I could add something beneficial…good to hear you’re doing better mashaAllah.

    Duas requested, Wassalaamu ‘alaikum
    Nisa

  4. jamal says:

    Asalaamu alaikum,

    You are correct that as Muslims we do not have to worry about the likes of black magic and witchcraft, etc. Al-Baqarah (102) tells us men were taught magic by the evil ones. However, the shaytan and his workers cannot take control of us if we are steadfast in our religion, read Qur’an and make dua as the best remedy and cure is to continuously seek protection and refuge in Allah (Qur’an 112, 113, 114). By what happened, Allah may be testing you to strengthen you, or helping you to avoid something else that may have occured.

    (2:102). ….” But they could not thus harm anyone except by Allah’s permission.”

    (15:42). 42. “For over My servants no authority shalt thou have, except such as put themselves in the wrong and follow thee.”

    (16:98-99). “When thou dost read the Qur’an, seek Allah’s protection from Satan the rejected one. No authority has he over those who believe and put their trust in their Lord.”

  5. Jamal, I just saw your comment, many apologies, I don’t understand why WordPress marked you as spam, but I am glad I checked the spam box before emptying it! JazakiAllah for a very relevant comment! And welcome to our blog 🙂

Comments are closed.