Ramadaan, day 5

Ground Rice PuddingI wonder if this happens to anybody else: I start to pray Taraweeh, and I think to myself “Ok, this is going to take a while…try not to loose your concentration, because you only get to do this one month out of the year…but 20 rakaats is a lot…do I have enough cold water here…etc.” So basically, this sounds like a really bad lament regarding oh-my-God-taraweeh-is-so-long-how-will-I-survive?! And then I get to the last four rakaats, and I feel like “Oh no, only 4 left…only 2 left…oh, I am already done! Did I pray too fast?!” Hmmmmm, maybe I should not have admitted to the badness of my initial thoughts…but, oh well, what’s a blog without a little bit of painful honesty? ๐Ÿ˜•

Onwards…I made a pink dessert for Iftar today. Mom asked for it, saying “There is something really simple you didn’t make in a longggg time…make it today…” So then she made me guess what this simple thing could be, because Allah knows I tend to make simple things quite often…I guessed, “crepes?” She said “No.” I guessed “Black Forest Cake (knowing this fulfills her definition of simple!).” She said, “No!” I guessed “Apple Pie?” Again, “No!!! Silly girl! You didn’t make Phirni in forever!” Oh, duh, now this is simple! It’s basically a ground rice pudding, quite identical to Muhallabieh, except that we flavor it with rose water rather than orange blossom water. Recipes ensues, for those who wish to give it a go.

Ground Rice Pudding, aka Phirni, aka Muhallabieh
Ingredients:
5 cups boiling milk
1 cup rice flour
1 cup water
2 cups sugar
3/4 tsp. ground cardamom
1 teaspoon rose water
some red food coloring
1/2 cup heavy cream

Method:
Boil the milk in the microwave while you combine the rice flour, water, and sugar in a pot, until there are no lumps.
When milk is hot, pour into rice flour mixture, add cardamom, rose water and enough coloring to achieve a desired shade of pink, and keep stirring until mixture thickens.
Remove from heat, and whisk in cold cream thoroughly. Pour into serving bowl, and let chill in refrigerator. Sprinkle with slivered pistachios, almonds, or shredded coconut for garnish.

(Picture is from last Ramadaan, because I simply cannot be bothered, for once in my life, to take a fresh picture…)

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Food, Lets Get Personal, Ramadaan '07. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Ramadaan, day 5

  1. Nisa says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum dear sis

    I pray that your ramadhan is full of blessings, Ameen.

    JazakAllah khair for posting the recipe! Was wondering if you’ve put up any recipes for your delicious cupcakes and the other cake (on the right) that you made?

    Duas requested..

    Wassalaamu ‘alaikum

  2. Wa alaykumassalaam, Nisa, Ameen, and alhamdulillah, Allah is so merciful! InshaAllah, your Ramadaan is going well and is full of barakah. I try to remember my bloggeroo girls in my duaas as much as possible! ๐Ÿ™‚

    You’re more than welcome for the recipe. I didn’t think anyone would be all that interested in the cupcake recipes, so I never bothered to type them up, but inshaAllah I will soon, as you are interested them. Let me know if you would like them ASAP or if they can wait till after Ramadaan ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Nisa says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum sis

    After ramadhan would be just fine inshaAllah! After your most recent post I think it is important to use the time that we have in these fleeting days to exert ourselves in as much ibadah as possible, and hold off on the indulgence!

    It was just I tried out a muffin recipe, and now my dear husband would like to see more where that came from! lol

    InshaAllah you and yours are well…I look forward to trying them out for him after ramadhan inshaAllah.

    JazakAllah khair.

  4. Umm Layth says:

    Hey, sis, assalam ‘alaykum

    Quick question, how thick does this get?

  5. Nisa, wa’Alaykumassalaam ๐Ÿ™‚ InshaAllah, I will make the cupcakes my first post after Ramadaan…

    Umm Layth, wa ‘Alaykum salaam ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s about the consistency of a thick white sauce, or a pizza sauce. Basically, once you can draw your finger thru it on the back of a wooden spoon, then it’s done. But you can make it thinner afterwards, if you like, by adding in cream or milk; and you can make it thicker if you prefer by cooking a bit longer. Hope that helps, sweet sister!

  6. Umm Layth says:

    Okay, wonderful. Jazaki Allahu khairan for your kindness! I want to find the exact recipe for that thick, thick, and very nice kheer. ; p

  7. Aha! Ok, I will be making it one of the days soon, so will post the recipe in a couple days, inshaAllah. Unless you need it ASAP? ๐Ÿ™‚ Dunno if mine is really thick enough tho…

  8. Umm Layth says:

    I don’t ‘need’ it asap. I ‘want’ it asap. :p LOL Sooo, I can be patient, but just be kind and don’t wait to make it toooo long. Por favor hermanita? : )

  9. You’re in such awesome luck, you must have some powerful duaas ๐Ÿ˜› and de nada ๐Ÿ˜‰ (coz I know you’re gonna thank me)

  10. Umm Layth says:

    Gracias. : )))

Comments are closed.