Ramadaan, day 8 (a recipe)

Umm Layth, my mother must have gotten your vibes, because I went downstairs to see if she wanted me to make anything special for tonight, and guess what she said? “No, I made Kheer, so you can go do some extra dhikr.” So, before I get to my dhikr-fest, here is the recipe that she used. I will take a picture later, hopefully…If it sounds like something you want to try, then let me know how it turns out.

Kheer (Rice Pudding)

Ingredients:
1/2 cup rice, American long-grain or basmati
1 cup water
4 cups milk
2 rounded TBSP rice powder, dissolved in some extra milk
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup coconut
2 rounder TBSP ground pistachios
1/2 tsp kewra essence

Method:
Boil rice and water for 10 minutes.
Add milk, and boil for 30 minutes.
Add rice powder, sugar, and coconut; cook for 10 minutes.
Add pistas and essence.

Can add saffron, slivered almonds, for extra specialness.
Serve hot or cold.

Note: You can increase the rice powder for extra thickness, but I don’t know by how much; guessing you can play around with even after it’s cooked; just make sure to dissolve it in liquid first so that no lumpiness occurs.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Food, Ramadaan '07. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ramadaan, day 8 (a recipe)

  1. Umm Layth says:

    as salamu ‘alaykum

    I posted a comment, but I guess it didn’t make it.

    Thank your mom! And thank you! I appreciate it so much. Unfortunately, I can’t give it a try today because I don’t have coconut. So insha’Allah once I try it I will let you know. Also, we had some today. It was just delicious. I could eat that for suhur and iftar and would be fine, insha’Allah.

  2. Wa’AlaykumAssalaam! 🙂 Ah, the WP spam filter goes crazy from time to time…sorry about that…Hah, I wish my mommy would let me eat kheer for suhur and iftar and nothing else…but alas, mommies are just not that way, are they?! 😀 And you’re very welcome, don’t worry about it, and my mom will appreciate the appreciation, so shukran!

  3. krimzin says:

    As Salamu ‘Alaykum!
    I love how you are writing about islam and Ramadaan! I am a Muslim! My favorite foods are Hummus and Knafeh. I go to the Mosque on Saturdays to learn more about Islam. But not now since we are celebrating Ramadaan. We go there almost every day to break fast. I try to fast since I’m 10 years old now but everytime I try, I get sick. It’s really hard to fast. So next week, I’m going to try to fast. It’s kind of hard for me to fast because I go to a public school. So I just fast until it’s time for our class to eat Lunch which is 12:35. So I fast for 4 hours. By the way, the recipe seems delicious! I’ll ask my mom to give it a try! She’ll make it, Insha’Allah. Once I try it, I’ll let you know how much I like it! But I probably won’t remember the name of this blog, so I’ll just add it to my favorites!

    As Salamu ‘Alaykum,
    Haithem,
    But you can call me Krimzin!

  4. Wa ‘Alaykum Salaam, Krimzin! Thank you for a comment that made me have the biggest smile I have had all day! I remember when I used to try to fast when I was a kid; the first time I ever fasted, the hardest thing was not eating candy…so at about 1:00 pm of that day when I was around your age, I had to pop a piece of licorice in my mouth. Was really bad of me…but it’s ok, because it’s much easier to fast now. A day without candy would make me sick…so please don’t make yourself sick, and just fast a small little bit at a time, and insha’Allah you will get used to it that way. Before you know it, you’ll be fasting all day.
    One day, I will try to make Hummus, and if you find me a good Knafeh recipe, please let me know ok? 🙂 I will look forward to the day your mom gets a chance to try this recipe. I hope you continue to have a very awesome Ramadaan with your friends and family at the mosque!
    Assalaamu’Alaykum,
    Zahra
    (But you can call me Digital Nomad!)
    P.S. Welcome to my blog, and thank you for book-marking it…make yourself comfortable!

  5. krimzin says:

    Thanks! My dad thinks I should fast today so I am! I know a good Knafeh recipe! I’m not really sure if it is good but this is what I found on the internet.

    1 lb. Knafeh dough (Katif dough)
    2 lbs. sweet cheese (Syrian or Ricotl

    1 to 1 1/2 cups rendered butter
    1/2 cup of sugar

    1 tbsp. Mazaher (orange blossom water)
    1/4 cup pine nuts

    1 tsp. of Knafeh coloring (optional)
    1/4 cup pistachios, chopped (optional)

    2 cup thin Attar

    Mix cheese, sugar, and Mazaher together. Chop Knafeh dough with a sharp knife. Mix with 1 3/4 cups hot butter over low fire for 15 minutes or until dough absorbs all the butter. Mix X cup butter and Knafeh coloring. Spread in a 17″ x 12″ pan. Sprinkle pine nuts evenly. Spread 2/3 of the dough in pan over the nuts and press well. Spread the cheese mixture over dough evenly. Cover with t rest of dough. Press well. Bake at 400 degrees in a preheated oven for 30 minutes (place in lower rack). Add thin Attar. Flip the tray over onto another tray of the same size. Return to oven and bake for 10 more minutes. Garnish with pistachios (optional). Serve hot.

    Tell me how it is.

  6. Krimzin, so how did your fast go? I hope you had lots of great food to eat at the end of it! 😀 And thanks for finding me that recipe…as soon as I get some Kataif dough, I will give it a try–I may not be able to get the sweet cheese though, so I may have to substitute cream cheese in place of it, and sweeten it a bit. We’ll see how it goes! 😀

  7. krimzin says:

    My fast went great! 😀 And Thanks for adding a comment to my blog! The Black Market is going great! OK so I made a lot of other things! I’ve decided to start something else called the Color Company. It’s going to have a Gold Market, Black Market, Red Market, and a lot others. They could tell me to make it now for money or order it. At school, I sold my first item! A Black Rock for 10 cents!

  8. I am glad you had a great time with your fast! And you’re very welcome 🙂 The Color Company sounds awesome–you are one very creative dude! I wish I were a kid at your school, but you are not charging enough for your stuff. Ah, that reminds me of a story…will probably share it with you all one of these fine days 🙂

  9. krimzin says:

    I’m still trying to work on the Color Company. I’m going into red and blue things next.

Comments are closed.