Ramadaan, day 14

There is something really odd going on with my internet connection. I will be cruising along, doing my thing, flipping between my real work and my recreational activities (of which there are too many!) and will start to think to myself, “OK, I better stop now to go pray/eat/shower/exercise/whatever.” And of course, you tell yourself to move, and it’s half an hour before you actually do so, right? So, for the past two months or so, this really bizarre thing will happen: I will think of getting up and going, and then 2 minutes later, my connection speed will drop to a frustrating 1.0 Mbps. Of course, you can’t surf to save your life at that speed! Or whatever program I am on will start moving really really really slowly. So, naturally, in complete irritation, and also acknowledging that I will get nothing further done until the other pressing need is seen to, I get up, do that task, come back, and speed/program is back to normal. Until something off-computer demands attention again.

Oh, this also happens when I am sewing something until 2 in the morning; if I am stuck on something and determined to get unstuck, all sorts of things start happening with the sewing machine: the thread knots up, the bobbin runs out way too soon (!), the machine will jam, etc. So then the only thing to do is either toss the machine out the window (not really an option!) or go to sleep. And then, like magic, the thing behaves itself the next day.

I don’t know whether to hate my computer for this, or to love it. I recognize it as a mixed blessing, coz on the one hand it really tests my patience to the max…and on the other hand, it helps me be more efficient.

Now that I have typed that out loud, I feel like I must be crazy or something. But, I swear, I am not nuts! I am not imagining this! This is totally for real! Anyone have anything similar happen to them?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Ramadaan '07, Think About It. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ramadaan, day 14

  1. dots... says:

    Yup it happens to me.. i so can relate to you..
    I always believe that those are signs.. and i should be stopping what i am doing and take a break ..
    when my computer starts acting weird.. thats a sign of “you had a lot of “computer intake” today get out of here ”

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    it happens.. but make sure you don’t throw your sewing machine and don’t think of hitting your computer with a bat.. ( sometimes i wish i could do that :p )

    its as u said .. testing our patience and to me.. testing my anger management too !

  2. Aaminah says:

    Asalaamu alaikum.

    Yep, I have it too. You are not crazy (or we are all crazy, perhaps). ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. dots, You and me both on the anger management thing! Ah, lucky I don’t have a tennis racket in my room…the machine and the laptop would both be toast by now! ๐Ÿ˜› Ah, but I am definitely paying attention to the signs: tis better for my health! ๐Ÿ˜†

    Aaminah, WaAlaykumSalaam no no no, none of us are crazy; it’s these appliances and “productivity tools” that are crazy! (Trying to convince myself…)

    Ah, but glad to know I am not alone; misery loves company, eh? ๐Ÿ˜€

    (Oh, and you might want to know: I tried posting this comment right before I prayed Jummah, and my connection dropped completely! ๐Ÿ˜ก )

  4. Em says:

    Salaams

    Im currently doing orders for BB2 so I know what you mean.I redid an order yesterday 3 times because I couldnt get the combi of the colours just right…

    So I did the best I could and rested..And when I had a look this morning.The whole order turned out quite well..

    I do agree that when the stuff that you wen through happens..its time to rest…

    My take anyways.

    Wasalaam!

  5. eshda3wa says:

    maybe u have magical powers ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Em, Salaams ๐Ÿ™‚ how utterly frustrating to do over 3 times something you would normally fly through in one go! Glad it turned out for the best in the end!

    eshda3wa, maybe I should change my name to Magical Nomad? ๐Ÿ˜†

Comments are closed.