Ramadaan, day 17

Today, I did something I have been putting off for quite some time. I made the Greek Spanokopita, and I am kind of not very enthusiastic about tasting it…knowing that there are onions in there just doesn’t help my head. Oh well. I think it’s quite suitable to everyone else’s taste buds…but next time, I am doing away with the onions! You want the recipe, you say? Ok! Keep in mind that I cut down the original recipe to one-fourth, because it would have been just too much. So, if you think you need more, quadruple this, and you should be fine…

Spanokopita
Ingredients
8 oz. spinach
1 oz. parsley
1/4 large onion
2 oz. spring onion
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper
1 tsp coriander seeds
1 tsp chilli paste
1 egg
1 oz. cottage cheese
2 oz. cream cheese
1 oz. cheddar cheese, grated
8 sheets of phyllo pastry
some clarified butter (ghee)

Method
Finely chop the onions and spring onions. Saute the onions in the oil until slightly soft, then add the spring onions and saute for a few more minutes.
Coarsely chop up the spinach and parsley, and add to onions. Add in salt, pepper, coriander, and chilli paste, and cook for about 5 minutes, or until greens are done, and moisture from them has evaporated.
Beat the egg, and add it with the cheeses to the spinach mixture, combining thoroughly.
Take four sheets of phyllo, and brush the butter between the layers. Cut into 6 to 8 strips, depending on the size desired.
Drop about 1 TBsp of spinach filling into each strip, about one inch from top, and fold pastry over, to form a triangle. (This is like filling samoosas.)
Repeat process for other 4 sheets of phyllo pastry.
Bake in preheated 350 F oven for about 30-45 minutes, until puffed and golden-brown.
Serve hot.
Source: Tess Mallos, The Complete Middle Eastern Cookbook,

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Food, Ramadaan '07. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ramadaan, day 17

  1. mehru says:

    i’m not too crazy about onions in certain foods either…especially omlettes. ::shudders::
    but this looks really good…

  2. Oh, I have nightmares about onions in omelettes! Aaaahhhh, can’t they have the courtesy of slicing them super-thin, so that I don’t see them?! Out of sight, out of mind…

    Let me know if you try it 🙂

  3. Farhana says:

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    Oooh, these look wonderful! Insha’Allah I hope to try them.. as soon as I get me some cottage cheese (that’s the only ingrediant I don’t have on hand).

    LOL@hating on the onion! I’m over ‘my’ onion nightmares, I’m putting it down as age..maybe our taste buds go or something, but everything seems to taste good after 25 🙂 ..hehe

    I’ll let you know how it goes, insha’Allah.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  4. Farhana, Wa’Alaykum Salaam, and Eid Mubarak! I just realized I didn’t respond to your comment, many apologies. It’s been a hectic week, indeed! Ok, you’re just the opposite of me…I started out picky, and it’s only getting worse with age! 😛 I hope this recipe is good for you–I have Indianized it a bit, as you can probably tell from the chili paste 😆

    Lots of Love and Du’aas,
    Zahra

  5. Farhana says:

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    Nope.. I haven’t made it yet.. sorry (although I’ve been dreaming about it!) Well, insha’Allah I hope you become one with the onion..hehe

    I just received a cook book from a swap we had, that has this recipe in. Only slightly different, so I thought I’ll share the differences.. in case you want to change it up a little.

    Additions:
    garlic (a must in every recipe.. minus cake), fresh dill, feta cheese, nutmeg, pine nuts, raisins

    Minus:
    parsley, coriander, chili paste, all the cheeses

    I should really find the book you are using.

    Take care, wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  6. Wa ‘Alaykum assalaam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuhu, dear Farhana,
    LOL @ becoming one with the onion…stranger things have happened, so I won’t say “never!” just yet 😉

    Oh, yeah, the original recipe did call for feta and maybe pine nuts too, but some here have issues with nuts, and feta was not to be found in the fridge, so I ditched those. I believe I added the coriander, and definitely added the chili paste, coz, hey…we *are* Indian! 😀 We can never keep a recipe in it’s original form, and seem to always make it just a bit different from the original deal…subhanAllah!

    The book is available online, and if you want the original version, you can try bookfinder.com and you might end up getting it for a very good price, inshaAllah. I would send you ours, but it’s the only copy we have, and mom lives and dies by it loool.

    Assalaamu ‘Alaykum,
    DigiN

Comments are closed.