Ramadaan, night 27

I have been blessed to come down with a cold yesterday, and now have a muggy headache, a scratchy throat, and a leaky faucet where my nose used to be. Consequently, sleep has evaded me all night, causing me to wake up, shower, and utilize my night in a more useful manner. And no, I don’t mean blogging. Now that I am done being useful, I decided to come and write down this story I heard lately, which is based on Hadith, but I can’t find the actual thing anywhere online. Granted, I probably did not look hard enough–it IS almost time for suhour! 🙂

There was a time when the Companions of the Prophet Sallallaahu Alayhi wa Sallam were gathered in the masjid, and Rasullullah (SAW) told them to watch carefully because a man of Jannah will be entering. This Sahaabi’s name was not mentioned in this Hadith. The Companions RadiAllahu Anhum watched, and eventually there entered this man who nobody was really all that familiar with. The next day, Rasullullah Sallallaahu Alayhi wa Sallam said the same thing: Watch carefully for a man of Jannah who is about to enter. Again, the same unfamiliar man entered. The next day, same thing happens. So, the Companions were very curious as to what this man was all about, that the Prophet would mention him so specifically, and go to the lengths of pointing him out. One Sahaba in particular, Abdullah ibn ‘Amr, decided to find out what kind of ibaadah this man does that makes him so special. Now, Abdullah ibn ‘Amr was the Sahaaba who used to recite the Qur’aan in a day, would pray the whole night long, and would fast all the time. His ibaadah was so extensive that the Prophet Sallallaahu Alayhi wa Sallam would have to restrain him, and tell him to moderate his actions to a very significant extent. So, naturally, he wanted to know what kind of ibaadah he was missing out on! So, he came up with the idea to invite himself to this Companion’s house to spend the day and night, to see for himself. He told this man that he is having some disagreement with his father, so will he take Abdullah ibn ‘Amr in for a few days till things cool over? The Companion agreed, and Abdullah ibn ‘Amr spent the next few days trying to determine what was going on here. He saw that man was not doing any extra praying, no extra fasting, nothing out of the ordinary, ibaadah-wise. So, on the third day, Abdullah ibn ‘Amr went to the Companion and told him, “You know, I didn’t actually have any discord with my father. What happened is that Rasullullaah mentioned one day before salaah that a man of Jannah is about to enter the masjid, and this happened several times, and that man turned out to be you every time. So I wanted to see what you do that makes you a man of Jannah, and to be honest, I don’t see anything special about you. So can you tell me, maybe I am not seeing the whole picture?” The man thought about it for a few moments, and then said, “The only thing that comes to mind is that every night, before I go to sleep, I cleanse my heart of all ill feelings I had during the day towards anyone and everyone.” And Abdullah ibn ‘Amr said, “By Allah, that is it. That is the one thing that is so difficult to do.”

This story keeps running around in my head and my heart. (I wish I had the exact wording of the Hadith, and the source, but I unfortunately do not.) It is such a beautiful story, for the lessons contained in it include: a) the importance of fulfilling our duties to Allah and b) His creation. For many, fulfilling either one of these is easy: for some, it’s very easy to pray 5 times, fast, give zakaat, go for Hajj, and live and breathe the shahaadah. For others, it’s very easy to be full of love for all of mankind, regardless of how rotten they recognize humanity to be. But, how many of us can do both? Truly, it’s a task worth undertaking.

InshaAllah, this inspires you to go to bed happy every night, after a day of fulfilling your obligations to your Creator, a day in which you probably have to endure a lot from His very flawed creation.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Islamically Inclined, Ramadaan '07, Think About It. Bookmark the permalink.