A couple days late…

…also, hope not to upset anybody. I love every single one of the blogs I read, I read each one for different reasons, i.e. to relieve stress, to commiserate about some aspect of life I can’t blog about myself, to get my blood boiling when life is just too good, etc. If you’re on my blog-roll, I love your blog.

Sorry for not knowing the meaning of “deadline.” Procrastination really has become my middle name…Now that the disclaimers are out of the way, I’ll get to my point…

faveblogger.jpg

I was invited to join in this blogging event (thank you, Mona), and I can only pick one blog as a favorite, I am choosing one that is not on my blog-roll. It is the blog called Just Another Angry Black Muslim Woman? by a very articulate woman by the name of Margari Aziza Hill. I read this blog because the writer discusses her experiences and reflections as a minority Muslim woman finding her way in the world in a way that is very precise and informative. Even if I don’t always agree with everything there, and I have never commented there, I always come away with a few bits to chew on. So, I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a blog that makes one think.

A post that I really liked there was Why you all up in my grill?, which discusses completely unseemly behavior by niqabis. I was taken aback by this post at first…and then realized that I have noticed a few niqaabis who are just odd and contradictory in their behavior. Sad but true.

Happy blog-reading! 😀

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Tagged!, Too Tired to File and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A couple days late…

  1. Umm Layth says:

    I think we are a walking contradiction as an Ummah, Period.

    I was going to comment on the blog but I decided to just post my thoughts here.

    It’s quite weird to see sisters in niqab doing the staring. As a sister who wears niqab, I hate being stared at. I’ve had people just stop in the middle of stores and stare me down, not taking their eyes off of me. It’s annoying, it can be hurtful, and it lacks class. Because of that, I do not do it myself. If I catch myself staring at anyone, I just remind myself of my own feelings when others single me out and try to eat me with their eyes.

  2. queenie says:

    Yeah, that as an interesting post. It kinda reminds me of how I like to wear either really dark or mirrored sunglasses because it allows me to stare at others without being stared at.

    How you been Digital Nomad, long time no hear?

  3. Umm Layth, Could not agree with you more. We get back from our Ummah what we put into it. It’s quite frightening to see that we are not really progressing…now, we have seemed to move to pure hypocrisy: the covered-up, pious-seeming, have no qualms about behaving with no adhab.

    queenie, lol yes! I sometimes do that too…but doesn’t it feel like the person will know that he/she is being stared at? 😀
    I been kinda busy, with lots to blog about, but kind of tongue-tied, not sure what to say and how to say it…I might be snapping out of my funk though…also will start making my blog rounds again soon, inshaAllah! Have been missing out on a lot of great stuff…

  4. Farhana says:

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    Jazak’Allah for sharing a little about a blog I hadn’t yet come across. I did read the article on niqabis, very interesting. Only Allah knows why people do what they do.

    I’d like to think that the people (non-Muslims) who stare at me are just curious, and maybe it’s a form of daw’ah. As for me looking at others (men), we are to lower our gaze just as men are required, and if I notice a Muslim woman I’ll say salaam (as we should!)

    Ahh, we spend so much time worrying about what others do..

    May Allah Most High forgive us, and guide us to do what please Him. Ameen.

    Wa’alayakum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  5. Farhana, Wa alaykumasSalaam wa rahmatullaahi wa barakaatuhu, sweet sister. Ameen!

    It depends on the type of the stare…sometimes it’s curiosity…other times it’s outright hostility, which is quite frightening. I love saying salaam to random Muslims, and of course that’s only really possible if I see the hijab; it makes me feel like our community is getting more confident in presenting their Muslim-ness to the world, which is always very cool!

    Sometimes we do tend to focus more on what the other person is doing, rather than our own actions…perhaps it’s a way for us to learn from another’s mistakes? And also, honestly, it distracts us from our own short-comings for a few moments.

    *Hugs to you*

Comments are closed.