Girls of Riyadh?

I recall there was some kind of uproar in Muslim/Arab circles when this book came out, so of course I had to give it a go now that I have a bit of free time. I must say, I don’t get what the fuss was about. Yes, it’s about a group of spoiled rich girls, but no need to be all jealous and condemn the issues they have in life. And for anyone suggesting that “girls like these” are “ruining our societies,” well, allow me to recommend that you take a good, long, hard, honest look at the boys of Riyadh, who are the real stars of this show.

I liked this book, overall. It depicts the lives of four upper class girls, who develop relationships with men both conventionally (through family-arranged weddings) and not-so-conventionally (dating, Saudi style). Some relationships work, others don’t, and the book portrays the emotional/societal fallout of such relationships. In some ways, it will shock you (when a traditionally married girl is divorced because her husband was really in love with someone else, his actions leading to the divorce are nothing short of despicable), but I can honestly say that it’s a very realistic book, and not so far removed from the relationships I see around me. Perhaps that is why it was such a scandal, and thus banned in the author’s home country of Saudi Arabia. Yes, I can see how the truth would sting.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Books, Gender Relations, Stories & Fables. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Girls of Riyadh?

  1. mehreen says:

    i’m usually wary of these type of books but this sounds somewhat intriguing…guess i’ll have to give it another go.

    btw, i changed my name to mehreen instead of mehru, just so you know and don’t get confused

  2. *charisma* says:

    Assalamu Alaikum

    Reminds me of a question…

    You know what it is…

    EBTS? getme :p

    I shall leave now to keep from embarrassing those wonderful people that gave birth to me.

    fi aman allah
    w’salaam

  3. mehreen, It’ll be a quick read, so at least it won’t be too much time invested in something you would not other read ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for the heads up! ๐Ÿ˜€

    *charisma*, How naughty are you, exactly?! My answer is the same: Once, but it was only kind of getme?! Here, have some chocos ๐Ÿ˜› .. ๐Ÿ˜† (Feeling very bad for your mama and baba) *chocs*

  4. do you think there will be a follow up book on the boys of Riyadh? or did they already cover that topic with the girls? ๐Ÿ˜€

    sounds interesting, I might also give it a go if I have time.

  5. queenie says:

    I picked this book up a a couple of months ago when I was at a bookstore, but I didn’t know if it was worth buying. Thanks for your input on it, I’ll definitely add it to my reading list. Can’t wait!

  6. Faith says:

    I started reading it but amid essays, preparing for presentations and studying for exams I never got around to finishing it. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to soon!

  7. blessedmuslim, ๐Ÿ˜† No, I doubt it, not anytime soon, anyhow…and I am not so sure I want to read any more about the boys of Riyadh…it was more than enough for me! ๐Ÿ˜ก

    queenie, I had serious misgivings about it as well, but it pleasantly surprised. Enjoy! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Faith, I hate how school comes in the way of more relaxing reading! I hope you get the chance to finish it…

  8. Amana says:

    Salams,
    I am a new visitor to your blog and I really like it. I am a Sri Lankan Muslimah, and its great to know that there are pious people in the West [Dont misund me, its just that we never get to see except the ‘mozlem’ ones!]. I am really happy to know and u know, u ppl all sound so familar to me!! I am so glad I found ur site.
    btw is ‘behind the veil’ a good book?anyone read it?

  9. Amana, Welcome to this here blog! ๐Ÿ™‚ I look forward to reading more of you both here and elsewhere InshaAllah! You are very sweet and kind, mashaAllah, and I am glad that you have found our blog!
    I have read so many behind the veil books, that I don’t know which one exactly you are speaking of. Usually they are good reads; not the best reads available, as they seem to aim for making the veil a very strange and exotic creation that somehow makes the veiled women into a different kind of human being. But, they are usually quick reads, and some are based on fact, and some are just total fantasy.

Comments are closed.