A beautiful surprise

This afternoon, my dad came to my room with a surprise for me. He stopped at the post office earlier, and there was a letter in hand…a personal letter, addressed to me! I was so surprised to see my aunt’s name as the sender, as I had been thinking about her in the morning, and reminding myself to SMS her. I could barely contain my excitement when I saw it. I had to look for a letter-opener, and failed to find one, so I finally resorted to using a razor blade. The whole time I was searching for it, I was wondering “what could she have possibly written that she couldn’t have just emailed?” Then, opening it, seeing it printed rather than handwritten, I realized she just wanted to use her new printer, and I felt so special that she wasted ink on me! 😆

She could have just as easily emailed, but somehow this was so much better! It’s been a very long time since I received a letter, and I must remember to send letters out to friends and family; if it made me so happy to get something low-tech, I imagine others in my life just might feel the same way? And it was so special to me, I just had to blog about it.I love these simple pleasures, they are really more memorable than the grandest of gestures. And I really miss my aunts. 😦

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A beautiful surprise

  1. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Assalaamu alaikum, Subhan Allah… jazakillahu khair for this reminder sister. I really must get the pen (or printer) going and send out some letters to family. Something I have long neglected in favour of sms but after reading your post I realise I should make more effort insha’Allah. Jazakillahu khair again. 🙂

  2. Wa’AlaykumusSalaam! You are very welcome! It really makes one feel special to receive something physical, once in a while, as opposed to always keeping in touch electronically…

Comments are closed.