Is it a blessing or is it a curse?

There comes a point when I think every anonymous blogger asks themselves whether to remain anonymous or not. Queenie asked a question in the same vein recently, and I honestly had no clue what to advise, so I stayed silent. And you guys will probably stay silent too, with this post of mine.

I wonder sometimes if I inhibit myself by being anonymous, or am I just more myself? I can’t decide really. On the one hand, I want to guard my privacy with all my might; I don’t have any of my “real life” friends reading this, indeed, they don’t know I blog. On the the other hand, there is no real reason why I have made anonymity such a priority. I don’t talk smack about my friends or family, not only because it would be disrespectful to them, but also because there is really no smack to be spoken of! LOL! Perhaps it’s this lack of agony in my life that leaves me with little to say? And then there are things I wish I could speak of that happens across the world, but I seriously feel uncomfortable getting potentially political. Honestly, I think I get bored of having a happy blog…someone once told me that this is the happiest blog they read. Maybe so, I never really thought of it that way.

Sometimes, it feels like not telling anyone about this blog makes it seem like a big dirty secret…one that ain’t all that dirty, mind you. At the end of the day, I’m not telling anyone about it, mainly because I suspect each one would think blogging is the weirdest, dumbest thing I could do. And who wants their friends and family thinking they are weird and dumb. One or the other is fine…but who can handle both! 😛 But I wonder if it’s just that I don’t have anything to write about, or is it inhibition that holds me back? Isn’t anonymity supposed to loosen inhibitions, not create them?! Or am I simply over-thinking this? :S

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life!, Think About It. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is it a blessing or is it a curse?

  1. queenie says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one out there who stays up late at night pondering the ultimate question of blog anonymity :p

    I have yet to post about my view on this in a proper post 😦

  2. LOL seriously, it does keep me wondering late at night! Can’t wait to hear your final decision…

Comments are closed.