Taming of the shrew

There is this crazy bougainvillea that we have in our backyard which is enough to drive a saint to the brink of madness. This thing is only about 8 years old, but it’s as cranky as a teenager. It grows wild. First I prune it down, with the firm intention that I will keep it under control and in good shape. A couple weeks of careful watching on the thing, during which time it does very little to annoy me. It just grows sedately, mashaAllah. So, I take my eyes off it, and come back in two weeks (I’ve got a life, right?!). Now I take a look at the thing, and leap back in total horror: it looks like Einstein on a really bad hair day.

Well, I’ve had enough. I’m going to tame this shrew inshaAllah. I’m going to turn it into a bonsai plant. Impossible dreamer, you think? Well, check out this article from the LA Times, which I’ve kept in the back of my mind for two whole years (gasp!). It discusses how this one man turned his 30-foot monster of a bougainvillea into a bonsai beauty.

I am going to try this. InshaAllah, it will work and our teenager will grow up to be a well-behaved yet fully thriving member of our garden. As cranky as this thing is, though, there is every chance it will just give up the will to live. I hope not, though…it’s flowers are such a gorgeous pink mashaAllah.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Amusing Tidbits, Lets Get Personal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Taming of the shrew

  1. noora says:

    That use to grow in our house for a very loong time. I literally grew watching it, growing untamed. But then I left home to univ, and one day I noticed it was gone. I never found out what happened 😦

    U cheered me up by this post, hehe. Dont over do it, just let it be 😉

  2. Simply Muslim says:

    I really don’t know how people grow THAT!! My plant is a really rebellious teenager, she blooms only 2 or 3 flowers despite my Mum’s contstant watering and fertilising! But I have seen so many houses ‘decorated’ with hanging bougainvillae with, get this, two different colours! DN, it looked so beautiful…just let me know if your new growing method works OK? 🙂

  3. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Assalaamu alaikum,

    I put photos of the bougainvillea in my yard on my blog too – I think it’s beautiful! It’s the only thing that’ll grow happily there!

  4. queenie says:

    Okay, so I recognized the plant in your photo and I had no idea it was called a bougainvillea, and I already knew what plant you were talking about from your title. In Arabic, we call the plant “al majnooneh” or “the crazy one”! Isn’t that hilarious?! Or that just might be me who thinks so.
    Anyhoo, it’s still got to be one of my favourite plants, because it grows in Palestine too.

  5. Nisa says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum dear sis

    I couldn’t sign into flickr to leave a comment on the recent cupcakes you made….how do you do that?? MashaAllah you seem quite artistic…I think I can handle making the actual cakes…but decorating…what do you use…what tools would I need?

    Feel free to email me inshaAllah – jazakAllah!

  6. Noora, Oh, it sucks when the expected stuff disappears unexpectedly from the home environment! I’ll try to not overdo it 😆


    Simply Muslim
    , lol here’s an update: It’s still tiny, but not in a pot yet…I’m going to see if I can keep small without transplanting…hmmmmm! I’m sorry that your bougainvillea won’t give more than a few flowers. You know, we had a couple of these plants that also never gave any flowers…maybe they are like people: some have thick hair, and some have no hair! Weird plant, this!


    Umm Ibrahim
    , I saw your bougainvillea pot plants, and they are beautiful, mashaAllah wal hamdulillah! If I can get ours to be half as well-behaved, I’ll be thrilled.


    queenie
    , oh my goodness! That is a GREAT name! Al Majnoon! I’m affectionately referring to it as al majnoon from now on 😆


    Nisa
    , Oh the decorating of cakes is easy enough, you just need the right tools. If you’re good at henna work (which I am not), then it’ll be that much easier inshaAllah. Wilton decorating tips (one each of Star, Round, Basketweave, Leaf, Petal) and a decorating bag are all you need to get going. There are brands other than Wilton, but I don’t know what they would be in the UK. The UK is an amazing cake decorator’s heaven, so I’m sure it would be easy to find both classes and just cake deco supply shops. Here’s a look at the tips I am talking about. Hope it helps, sis. I might just do a post on it in a couple days, just coz it’s a fun topic for me. And JazakiAllah khair for your kind and sweet words and thoughts *hug*

Comments are closed.