Lies, lies, and more lies?

The Messenger of Allah (Salallahu Alayhi Wasallam) said,

Truthfulness leads to righteousness, and righteousness leads to Paradise. A man continues to tell the truth until he becomes a truthful person. Falsehood leads to al fujuwr (i.e. wickedness, evil-doing), and al fujuwr (wickedness) leads to the (Hell) Fire, and a man may continue to tell lies till he is written before Allah, a liar.
[Saheeh Bukhari]

In a hadith narrated by Abu Hurayrah, the Prophet (Salallahu Alayhi Wasallam) is reported to have said:

If you guarantee me six things on your part I shall guarantee you Paradise. Speak the truth when you talk, keep a promise when you make it, when you are trusted with something fulfill your trust, avoid sexual immorality, lower your guise, and restrain your hands from injustice.” [Ubadah Ibn al Samit, Ahmad, Bayhaqi]

Sometimes, we feel that lying will get us out of a scary situation, and it’s moments like that where I remember that Sayidina Rasulullah (Salallahu Alayhi Wasallam) only spoke the truth, in the face of persecutions from his own people.  Of course, we’re not prophets or even have a fraction of what the sahabah (Radiallahu Anhum) had in them, but we should try, right?

It’s so easy to lie.  It’s even easier for the lie to turn into a really grand story.  But it’s really bad when the story involves insulting somebody, and that too a person of high esteem.  Oddly, I’m the type of person who chuckles when I’m being lied to when I know the truth.  Even after I’ve believed something, and it turns out to be a lie, I somehow get over it.  But I do not, and will not, get over it when others believe the lies and go along with the liar and further insult the person being lied about.  That sets me off into rage.  I swear, it really does.

I’m sorry to all those I may have lied to.  I really am.  After hearing an elaborate story today, I truly am scared, and I pray that I and those whom I love dearly never turn out to create such tales.  May Allah protect us all… Ameen.

Beware of lying for lying guides to transgression and transgression leads to the fire. (Bukhari and Muslim)

About Thê Talkïng Pïnhêad

Just another girl who writes stuff, who thinks the world is screwed up, who believes things can change, who knows it most probably won't.
This entry was posted in My Deen. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lies, lies, and more lies?

  1. hfm says:

    I really like this post.
    Subhanallah, the prophets were so honest and showed us all a perfect example of how to be true to ourselves and others.

    More than lying to others, I feel like lying to myself is worse since I’m fooling my own mind into believing something untrue.

    You’re right about ‘chuckling’ when you know you’re being lied to.It’s ironic how people would dig deeper until they feel so distant from the truth that they too have forgotten the differentiation between the truth and the lie.
    :/

  2. hafsa says:

    ASslamulaikum
    gud article

Comments are closed.