Out of the Shadows

Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.

So said Thomas Jefferson, apparently. There was a time when I kept my honesty to myself. Then, somebody special motivated me to spill my thoughts, to be unafraid of speaking the truth, to not hold everything in, to form an opinion or two of my own. Of course, that was at a time when the truth benefited not only me, but that special somebody as well. I later came to realize that the truth could perhaps have been kept to myself. After all, had I been speaking for myself, for my interests, or for somebody else’s? Had I been manipulated into speaking my mind? I don’t really know…but I do know that while the truth came with a certain price tag, it was also a character-building exercise. Anyhow, by then, it was too late to go back and re-alter my personality to suit the method of silence. Yet, I’ve been prone to making vows (mostly to myself), that the truth shall be something I selfishly keep to myself. Sometimes, I am successful in maintaining my silence. Other times? Not so much.

Yesterday, after another infamous vow, I opened my big fat mouth. And today, I realized that there is no reason to make petty vows of silence. Honesty feels good. Sometimes, most times, we have to lay our cards on the table. It makes for a simpler life for everyone: me, you, and our shadows. In fact, the shadows will no longer be, and no longer haunt, simply for the effort of speaking your mind.

The trick is knowing when to speak, and when to keep the truth to yourself just a bit longer.

And here are more inspiring quotes on the virtues of honesty, just to give you something to think about.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Think About It and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.