15th Ramadaan, 1429

Today was the completion of Surah al-Kahf, with the conclusion of Hadhrat Musa (alayhis salaam)’s story of his encounter with Khidr alayhis salaam:

Mûsa (Moses) said to him (Khidr) “May I follow you so that you teach me something of that knowledge (guidance and true path) which you have been taught (by Allâh)?” (66) He (Khidr) said: “Verily! You will not be able to have patience with me! (67) “And how can you have patience about a thing which you know not?” (68) Mûsa (Moses) said: “If Allâh wills, you will find me patient, and I will not disobey you in aught.” (69) He (Khidr) said: “Then, if you follow me, ask me not about anything till I myself mention of it to you.” (70) So they both proceeded…

Read the surah yourself to find out what happened, while I jump to the conclusion, and wrap up what happened between Khidr and Musa:

(Khidr) said: “This is the parting between me and you, I will tell you the interpretation of (those) things over which you were unable to hold patience (78) “As for the ship, it belonged to Masâkîn (poor people) working in the sea. So I wished to make a defective damage in it, as there was a king behind them who seized every ship by force. (79) “And as for the boy, his parents were believers, and we feared lest he should oppress them by rebellion and disbelief. (80) “So we intended that their Lord should change him for them for one better in righteousness and nearer to mercy. (81) “And as for the wall, it belonged to two orphan boys in the town; and there was under it a treasure belonging to them; and their father was a righteous man, and your Lord intended that they should attain their age of full strength and take out their treasure as a mercy from your Lord. And I did them not of my own accord. That is the interpretation of those (things) over which you could not hold patience.” (82)

Also, in this surah was the story of Dhul-Qarnain, and the building of the wall between the Ya’juj and Ma’juj, and the rest of the world. Fascinating stuff, and reading the Dr. Mohsin translation is so smooth and easy.

Then onto Surah Maryam, with the stories of Hadhrat Zakaria alayhis salaam and his son Yahya (alayhis salaam), who was born to him very late in life. The surah went on to include the story of the birth of ‘Isa alayhis salaam:

(The angel) said: “I am only a messenger from your Lord, (to announce) to you the gift of a righteous son.” (19) She said: “How can I have a son, when no man has touched me, nor am I unchaste?” (20) He said: “So (it will be), your Lord said: ‘That is easy for Me (Allâh): And (We wish) to appoint him as a sign to mankind and a mercy from Us (Allâh), and it is a matter (already) decreed, (by Allâh).’ ” (21) So she conceived him[], and she withdrew with him to a far place (i.e. Bethlehem valley about 4-6 miles from Jerusalem). (22) And the pains of childbirth drove her to the trunk of a date-palm. She said: “Would that I had died before this, and had been forgotten and out of sight!” (23) Then [the babe ‘Īsā (Jesus) or Jibril (Gabriel)] cried unto her from below her, saying: “Grieve not! Your Lord has provided a water stream under you; (24) “And shake the trunk of date-palm towards you, it will let fall fresh ripe-dates upon you.” (25) “So eat and drink and be glad, And if you see any human being, say: ‘Verily! I have vowed a fast unto the Most Gracious (Allâh) so I shall not speak to any human being this day.'” (26) Then she brought him (the baby) to her people, carrying him. They said: “O Mary! Indeed you have brought a thing Fariyy (a mighty thing). (Tafsir At-Tabari) (27) “O sister (i.e. the like) of Hârûn (Aaron) []! Your father was not a man who used to commit adultery, nor your mother was an unchaste woman.” (28) Then she pointed to him. They said: “How can we talk to one who is a child in the cradle?[]” (29) “He [‘Īsā (Jesus)] said: Verily! I am a slave of Allâh, He has given me the Scripture and made me a Prophet;[]” (30) “And He has made me blessed wheresoever I be, and has enjoined on me Salât (prayer), and Zakât, as long as I live.” (31) “And dutiful to my mother, and made me not arrogant, unblest. (32) “And Salâm (peace) be upon me the day I was born, and the day I die, and the day I shall be raised alive!” (33)

The surah goes on to discuss Ibrahim alayhis salaam, and then concludes with:

Verily, those who believe [in the Oneness of Allâh and in His Messenger (Muhammad SAW)] and work deeds of righteousness, the Most Gracious (Allâh) will bestow love for them[] (in the hearts of the believers). (96) So We have made this (the Qur’ân) easy in your own tongue (O Muhammad SAW), only that you may give glad tidings to the Muttaqûn (pious and righteous persons – See V.2:2), and warn with it the Luda[] (most quarrelsome) people. (97) And how many a generation before them have We destroyed! Can you (O Muhammad SAW) find a single one of them or hear even a whisper of them? (98)

I know this is probably longer than it should be, but those were the parts that touched me, or that I have loved always, and so it was hard to not include them.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Ramadaan '08 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 15th Ramadaan, 1429

  1. saifudheen says:

    in my opinion khidr was not a prophet.because his actions were beyond the shari’a.this ,wa can see in 3 events.i opine, he is a waliyu who came to learn musa(a) the self controll etc

  2. ZH says:

    A late Ramadan Mubarak! Hope you had a great time on eid day. 🙂

Comments are closed.