Obama made it…!

Like whoa…  I was 50/50 about this, partly thinking he’d loose and the part of me just hoping he’d win.  It was quite odd to know immediately who the president is.  I was quite getting used to going to sleep without knowing who our president will be… 😉  And this time the map was all red too, nice to have more blue sprinkled in the middle states!  President Obama’s acceptance speech was amazingly humble, and that quite impressed me.  I loved the way he said the opening line.

If there is anyone out there who still doubts that America is a place where all things are possible, who still wonders if the dream of our founders is alive in our time, who still questions the power of our democracy, tonight is your answer.

I was equally impressed by Sentator McCain’s concession speech.  The graciousness and dignity of it was quite admirable.

And I shall head off to bed now, hopeful that what lies ahead of us are good times.  May Allah protect us all and grant us that which is good for us, and may He bless the world with peace and justice… Ameen.

About Thê Talkïng Pïnhêad

Just another girl who writes stuff, who thinks the world is screwed up, who believes things can change, who knows it most probably won't.
This entry was posted in News :/. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Obama made it…!

  1. Ajla says:

    They do not write their speeches themselves.
    Though it does take rhetorical skills to make a good piece of writing sound good aswell and touch the audience, that I’m gonna give them credit for.

    But all the “Our country, our America, bless this, bless that” bla bla, the typical American-style, it’s just too much for me, too cliché. We’re different in Europe regarding that.

    Let’s see what Obama can do for America! Their first black president, yay! 😀

  2. Yea, I know they don’t write their speeches themselves. All leaders have speech writers. However, many of their written speeches are rather dull, so it was a nice change. It did have an appeal to it and cliche it may seem, I guess it fits the American mood. And given it was moment making history, we can’t expect him to not have appealed to the fact that he’s in a great country… 🙂

  3. Ajla says:

    Dull? LOL typical for an American to say. 😀 So different tastes, haha!

    A great country, depending on what aspects you point at and through whose eyes you look through.

    I’m still kind of shocked they market themselves for about 2 years! 2 years… No wonder I felt this had taken an eternity!

  4. I can’t expect the first African American president to go up there and say anything but the fact that he’s in a great country. Even I wouldn’t deny that this country is great after all I have enjoyed my share of privileges while living here. It doesn’t have a perfect history, but no country except the Islamic rule under the Khulafa ar Rashidun had a perfect, flawless history.

    They usually don’t go for 2 years. It was eternity for everybody…lol.

  5. Ajla says:

    I’m not talking only about history… Oh well, just agree to disagree about how great America is, that much is agreed on everywhere in the world.

Comments are closed.