We are in Dhul Hijjah

The Hajj season is upon us, and this year I have not heard of many of our acquaintances heading off for Hajj. I guess the fact that Hajj is no longer in the vacation period of the Gregorian must have a lot to do with that. It’s rather difficult for working people to arrange a few weeks off from work and/or school, so it’s understandable.

Today is the 2nd of Dhul Hijjah for us (well, for those of us who go by local moon-sighting). The month of Dhul Hijjah is one of the more blessed months of the Islamic year, as explained by this Hadith:

Narrated Ibn Abbas, the Prophet (saw) said, “No good deeds done on other days are superior to those done on these (first ten days of Dhul Hijjah).” Then some companions of the Prophet said, “Not even Jihad?” He replied, “Not even Jihad, except that of a man who does it by putting himself and his property in danger (for Allah’s sake) and does not return with any of those things,”

(Sahih Bukhari, vol.2, #86)

So, this is our other chance, outside of Ramadaan, to nourish our spiritual selves with extra fertilizer. One thing I would like to do is resurrect my x365-themed posts…but with a more informative twist. InshaAllah, I would like to use the x365 idea to highlight a story from a different sahabi each day. In this way, perhaps I could learn a ton of new things, and also refresh my memory on the things I should be remembering.

We’re fasting the first 9 days of Dhul Hijjah. I am already a tad hungry, and it’s 1:50 pm…three more hours to go. I think I’m making pesto pasta for dinner…mmmm, there goes my stomach, grumbling loudly in approval.

Add to FacebookAdd to NewsvineAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Furl

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Hajj, Islamically Inclined, Lets Get Personal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.