Shed our sins like leaves from a twig [9.365]

Sayyidina Abu ‘Uthman radiAllaahu anhu reports:

I was with Sayyidina Salman (Farsi) radiAllaahu anhu under a tree. Sayyidina Salman took a dry twig of that tree and shook it until all its leaves were shed. Then he said, “O Abu ‘Uthman! Why don’t you ask me why I did like this?” I said: “Why are you doing like this?” Sayyidina Salman said: The Holy Prophet sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam also did like this with me and I was with him under a tree. He took a dry twig of that tree and shook it until all its leaves were shed. So, he asked me, “O Salman! Why don’t you ask me why I’m doing like this?” I asked him: “And why are you doing like this?” He, sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam, said, “When a Muslim performs ablution (and he does it thoroughly) and then says all the five prayers, his sins are shed even as these leaves were shed.” And said:

وَأَقِمِ ٱلصَّلَوٰةَ طَرَفَىِ ٱلنَّہَارِ وَزُلَفً۬ا مِّنَ ٱلَّيۡلِ‌ۚ إِنَّ ٱلۡحَسَنَـٰتِ يُذۡهِبۡنَ ٱلسَّيِّـَٔاتِ‌ۚ ذَٲلِكَ ذِكۡرَىٰ لِلذَّٲكِرِينَ

And perform As-Salât (Iqâmat-as-Salât), at the two ends of the day and in some hours of the night [i.e. the five compulsory Salât (prayers)]. Verily, the good deeds remove the evil deeds (i.e. small sins). That is a reminder (an advice) for the mindful (those who accept advice).

[11:114]

There are so many interesting little anecdotes relating to salaah and wudhu, that I’m probably going to be spending the next week on this topic…inshaAllah.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in x365 Sahaaba and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shed our sins like leaves from a twig [9.365]

  1. hijabee says:

    Thanks for sharing. Mashallah

Comments are closed.