How much is your distraction worth? [13.365]

It is reported from Sayyidina Abdullah bin Abu Bakr radiAllaahu anhu that Sayyidina Abu Talha Ansari radiAllaahu anhu was saying the prayer in his garden. Meanwhile, a piebald sparrow took to flight and began to take rounds. It was seeking a way out but was not finding one. This amazed Sayyidina Abu Talha radiAllaahu anhu . For a short while, he would cast a look at the bird and then would again engage in his prayer. For this reason he could not remember how may rak’ahs he had said. So he remarked: “This mischief has arisen from my property.” He came to his holiness and said: “O Messenger of Allah! That garden I give in charity. You may spend (i.e. use) it however you like.”

According to other traditions, this garden that proved such a distraction to Sayyidina Abu Talha radiAllaahu anh was in “one of the valleys of Madinah called Wadi Qif. It was the season of dates, and date-palms wearing the collars of their fruits were bending down…and this garden was ultimately sold for fify thousand dirhams.”

So that was a distraction that proved very valuable! MashaAllah. When I get distracted, all I do is resolve to do better the next time around…sad, eh?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in x365 Sahaaba and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How much is your distraction worth? [13.365]

  1. biscuitinabasket says:

    Hey salaams!

    “When I get distracted, all I do is resolve to do better the next time around” – That’s a very good ploy, and its a philosophy which I have believed in and applied for a very long time.

    I really love the snippets which you post. I am working hard to learn as much as I can and become a better muslim, and the quotes and explanations are helping me a great deal!

    I guess, I could comment a bit more…. I’m working on that! 🙂

    Wasalama

  2. Salaams right back at ya, biscuitinabasket 🙂 And welcome to our blog. I’m glad to hear that this series is beneficial to someone other than myself…I can only hope that it becomes applicable for both you and me, inshaAllah.

    Looking forward to seeing more of you, and I really like your screen name…super-creative!

Comments are closed.