Remembering those who did good [15.365]

Abu Hurairah radiAllaahu anhu reported: A black woman (or probably a young man) used to clean the mosque. Messenger of Allah sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam missed her (or him) and asked about her (or him). He was told that she (or he) had died. He sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam said, “Why did you not inform me?’‘ (It seemed as if) they (the Companions) considered the matter insignificant. Then he sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam said, “Show me her (or his) grave.” When it was shown to him, he offered (Janazah-funeral) prayer over it and said, “These graves cover those in them with darkness, and Allah illumines them for the inmates as a result of my supplication for them.”

Various other reports confirm that the person concerned was a woman named Umm Mihjan.

There are a couple things that jump out at me from this Hadith. The first is that it was a woman who was allowed to clean to the masjid, and when she passed away, she was missed for it. This strikes me particularly because I had read a few days ago, elsewhere, about how women should not be cleaning masjids, it should be left to the men to do…and that it’s Islamically impermissable. There is probably more than this single story which led to that ruling…but I’m still curious. I must do some investigation on this issue.

The other thing that strikes me is how a person is missed for the value of his or her actions. There is no deed too small or big, so long as it’s well-intentioned and sincere, that we can do to ensure a positive legacy upon our death.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in x365 Sahaaba and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Remembering those who did good [15.365]

  1. biscuitinabasket says:

    Hey salaams!

    My first thought was the same about women being allowed to clean a mosque; but something rings a bell that it is circumstancial.

    Also, I am big on recognising the work of people, no matter of the scale of the job. Unfortunately, a lot of folk find this as something insignificant, and it is a view peple must address!

    Mind me asking where you have taken the Hadith from?

  2. WaAlaykum salaam 🙂 We don’t remember people for their wealth or poverty, for their race or ethnicity, for their health or sickness. All that is left are the things they’ve done. And we all have people we would rather not remember, eh? InshaAllah, let’s not be one of those.

    This was from the Hayatus Sahabah, and then I found it in Sahih Bukhari, so I included that version. 🙂

  3. Heh…I thought of this hadeeth when I heard about it being impermissible for a woman, but then it occurred to me that this sahabiyah wasn’t actually hired but rather she volunteered it on her own accord. When there are plenty of men to do the job, tis a tad weird to just go look for a woman, unless the woman is being hired for the ladies area. And I also suppose that we live in times of fitnah so that plays in…

    I duno…just making wild guesses…

    Jazakillah khair big sis. ❤

  4. That was the question, about the women cleaning the masjid proper for hire…in a place where there are (more than) plenty of men capable of doing it. Your analysis makes sense, lil sis 😉

    wa barakAllah feeki xoxoxo

Comments are closed.