Fairness in gift-giving [19.365]

This will be of particular interest to the parents among us. I would go so far as to say it’s probably good advice for everyone: teachers who give gifts to students; students who give gifts to multiple teachers, etc. Makes for harmonious living, even if it’s not necessary and a matter of justice.

Narrated ‘Amir رضي الله عنه:
I heard An-Nu’man bin Bashir رضي الله عنه on the pulpit saying, “My father gave me a gift but ‘Amra bint Rawaha رضي الله عنه (my mother) said that she would not agree to it unless he made Allah’s Messenger صل الله عليه وسلم  as a witness to it. So, my father went to Allah’s Messenger  صل الله عليه وسلم and said, ‘I have given a gift to my son from ‘Amra bint Rawaha, but she ordered me to make you as a witness to it, O Allah’s
Messenger !’ Allah’s Messenger صل الله عليه وسلم  asked, ‘Have you given (the like of it) to everyone of your sons?’ He replied in the negative. Allah’s Messenger صل الله عليه وسلم said, ‘Be afraid of Allah, and be just to your children.’ My father then returned and took back his gift.”

[Sahih Bukhari Volume 3, Book 47, Number 760]

Of course, my parents have always been beyond fair, alhamdulillah. And now I know why 😀

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in x365 Sahaaba and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.