Wonderful Winter

It’s been the coldest winter since a few years I think, and I’m really loving it.  Having a few days of down pour of rain was sooo pleasant.  And not to mention I get to wear my pretty sweaters daily. 🙂  But here are less vain reasons to love winter.  I never really thought there would be sayings on winter in the ahadeeth and reading this made me really grin.

The best season to a believer is the winter, its nights are long for those who wish to pray, and its days are short for those who wish to fast

Hasan Al Basri.

It is reported from Abu Hurayrah (Radiallahu Anhu) that he said:

Shall I not point you to comfortable proceeds? People responded, “And what is that oh Abu Hurayrah?” He replied, “Fasting in winter.

It is reported from ‘Umar (Radiallahu Anhu) that he said:

Winter is booty for the devout worshipers.

It is reported from ‘Ubayd bin ‘Umayr (Rahimahullah) that he said:

It used to be said when winter came: O people of the Qur`an, the night has become long so you can pray (more) and the day has become short for you to fast.

It is reported from the famous worshipper Rabi’ah (Rahimahullah) that she said:
I have never heard the adhan except that I remember the caller who will announce the Day of Resurrection, and I never see the falling snow except that I imagine the flying pages of the records of peoples deeds (on that day), and I never see swarms of locusts except that I think about the Great Gathering on the Last Day.

[Ibn Al-Jawzi, Sifah Al-Safwah Vol. 2 p433]

About Thê Talkïng Pïnhêad

Just another girl who writes stuff, who thinks the world is screwed up, who believes things can change, who knows it most probably won't.
This entry was posted in My Deen, Quotables. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wonderful Winter

  1. Ajla says:

    I always wish Ramazan was during winter!!

    JazakiAllah kheyr for the quotes.

  2. Me too! I actually used to feel bad for thinkin that I like short days to fast in. I’ve grown to like long days too anyway, but I just used to prefer the shorter days, and it feels so nice to hear this from the Sahabah (Radiallahu Anhum)! ❤

Comments are closed.