Should I stay or should I go? [21.365]

Narrated Abu Waqid Al-Laithi رضي الله عنه:

While Allah’s Apostle صل الله عليه وسلم  was sitting in the mosque with some people, three men came. Two of them came in front of Allah’s Apostle صل الله عليه وسلم  and the third one went away. The two persons kept on standing before Allah’s Apostle صل الله عليه وسلم  for a while and then one of them found a place in the circle and sat there while the other sat behind the gathering, and the third one went away. When Allah’s Apostle صل الله عليه وسلم   finished his preaching, he said, “Shall I tell you about these three persons? One of them be-took himself to Allah, so Allah took him into His grace and mercy and accommodated him, the second felt shy from Allah, so Allah sheltered Him in His mercy (and did not punish him), while the third turned his face from Allah and went away, so Allah turned His face from him likewise. “

[Sahih Bukhari Volume 1, Book 3, Number 66]

Do you know how sometimes you feel uncomfortable upon entering a gathering of people?  This hadith reminds me of those moments when I am self-consciously searching for a place to sit…sometimes I want to find a spot in the middle of things. Other times, I want to disappear to a far edge and kind of hope nobody notices me.  And then there are those times when I wish I hadn’t even bothered, I wished I’d just stayed home. I hope it’s never the good types of gatherings I wanted to run away from!

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in x365 Sahaaba and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Should I stay or should I go? [21.365]

  1. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Subhana’Allah I don’t know this hadeeth. Yes insha’Allah we always get included in good gatherings.

    Jazaki Allah khier sis.

  2. biscuitinabasket says:

    Hey salaams!

    I have heard this hadith before… and whenever I feel that being part of a gathering will benefit my iman and deen, I try and be part of it 🙂

  3. biscuitinabasket, Sometimes, even the gatherings that seem like they will benefit my imaan (i.e. filled with religious looking people) end up just ticking me off. And then afterwards, I realize there was an odd vibe going on that I should have paid attention to. Such is life.

  4. hfm says:

    i hate it when you’re at a gathering and no one makes the slightest attempt to make space.
    😐

    This hadith is frightening, the moment of being turned away from Allah is not as distant and difficult.We never know when we’re under His fold or not.

Comments are closed.