Be gone with ye!

Last week, on about Tuesday I believe, I started this detoxifying thing. You might have heard of the Master Cleanse Detox Diet…well, I only read about it last week, so I figured it would be a good idea to try it. After all, it’s focused on detoxifying the body of toxins, and while I have zero willpower to get and stay on a diet, detoxifying sounds too good to miss. So, I mixed up a half gallon of water with the juice of 2 lemons, about 6 TB of grape molasses, and that’s it. They say to add cayenne pepper, but the idea of that scared me, so I decided against it.

I lasted one day before my mouth got this fuzzy feeling; my mom said this sounds like a horrible idea, and that I should at least eat one healthy meal in the day along with a fruit or two. And I figured, if I’m gonna starve myself to detox, I may as well fast, right? So, I nixed the strict detox thing, and decided to see if I could just stick to eating healthy.

Guess what?! I have been chocolate free for a week! Reduced my sugar intake to strictly what I eat in my oatmeal and soy milk. And…I lost 5 whole pounds. I didn’t even expect to lose weight, but now that 5 pounds are gone, let’s see if I can drop another 5. Or at least not regain those five! Hmmmm.

The stupid thing is: I got a pimple on my chin despite the lack of junk food. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Girls, what do you do to keep the pimples away? Certainly, the chocolate wasn’t the cause.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Be gone with ye!

  1. Saima says:

    Assalaamu ‘alaikum

    I think the key to clear and good skin is…………water! Try and drink at least the recommended 8 glasses a day and you’ll notice a real difference inshaAllah.

    Maybe if we started fasting Mondays and Thursdays and avoiding eating too much meat, junk etc….would do us a lot of good health wise.

    I’m motivated now to make a change in my diet as for sure what we eat affects our whole being.

  2. biscuitinabasket says:

    ๐Ÿ˜€

    You know – you are taking a very sensible approach! I have been steadily reducing the size of portions which I eat, and trying hard to reduce sugar intake too. In the last 2 weeks I lost 2kg (so about 4.5 pounds) just by watching what I eat.

    I think people dont quite understand about how much they eat. You can eat 10 times a day as long as the quantity is right. Ofcourse exercise is important too, but you can do simple stuff like skipping, or brisk walking. What is very important is how much you eat, and you seem to be on the right path! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    OMG the thought of drinking that made me cringe ๐Ÿ˜†

    Yep as Saima said water is very good for the skin. I also use a good quality face wash cleanser.

    I started to drink hot herbal teas like mint, aniseed, chamomile, green tea, lemon verbena etc. without sugar though and it made me healthier and energized.

  4. WaAlaykumusSalaam ๐Ÿ™‚
    Saima, I can never manage to drink that many glasses of water a day. I usually get in about 3 glasses…but I really need to try harder. You’re like the fourth person to say so…so I’ll get on it, inshaAllah. Fasting Mondays on Thursdays was actually something I wanted to add to my list! InshaAllah, let’s start this Monday ๐Ÿ™‚ And yes…our diets today are way too far from healthy. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    biscuitinabasket, hehe I had to take a sensible approach…the drastic way was going to kill me! I don’t know how people go on every single diet there is out there, and actually stay on them for weeks before giving up. You’re right…it’s as much about quantity as what you actually eat. You can defo eat that cake…just make it a mini-portion once a week. Satisfy the urge, and keep your body happy by not giving it too much junk.

    realistic bird, Another one with the water! ๐Ÿ˜† Ok…this is like a sign from Allah. And LOL you know, the drink actually did not taste bad, it was pretty much just like lemonade. But then, I like lemon and I like molasses, and I like water so that might have helped ๐Ÿ˜› It was simply way too drastic. You know, you’re so right about the herbal teas…they really make you feel you good.

  5. dailyislamicthought says:

    Asalamualaikum! Awesome blog MashAllah! ^_^ I love the CNN thing you posted, very interesting! and lol for your skin, eat 1/2 cup of plain yogurt before you sleep.

  6. Wa Alaykumus Saalaam ๐Ÿ™‚ Welcome, and I definitely will try to remember to eat yogurt consistently. I’ve been at it with the water, as per everyone’s suggestions, and wow…zit-free! Alhamdulillah!

    Now, any suggestions to make scars disappear within days? I’ve been using a turmeric cream, and it’s awesome…but it still takes about a month to fade the scars. I’d like something a wee bit quicker. I’m demanding, I know ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Comments are closed.