The Bikini Objectifies

I saw on CNN the following headline: Men see bikini-clad women as objects. I saw this and was like, “No fooling?!” We’ve been saying it for 1400 years that Islam, by telling us to cover up, is saving us from being objectified. And we constantly have to hear back that covering up makes us objects. Well, thank heaven we have science to back us up now! 😉 Interesting little tidbit from the article:

A supplementary study on both male and female undergraduates found that men tend to associate bikini-clad women with first-person action verbs such as I “push,” “handle” and “grab” instead of the third-person forms such as she “pushes,” “handles” and “grabs.” They associated fully clothed women, on the other hand, with the third-person forms, indicating these women were perceived as in control of their own actions. The females who took the test did not show this effect, Fiske said.

It’s going to be fun pointing this article out to the hijab haters! It sure beats all those studies that say Vitamin D levels in Arab (code word to imply Muslim!) are simply life-threateningly low.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in In the News, Islamically Inclined and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Bikini Objectifies

  1. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Haha! Gosh the study is not needed to observe what is obvious but it definitely helps.

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. Umm_Ibraheem says:

    As Salaamu Aalaykum,

    as a fellow niqabi this makes me smile. I live in a primarily Spanish neighborhood and I usually get to hear the colorful things they say about me while I am still standing there. So usually what happens is that I address them in spanish. yes spanish. You should see how embarrass they get. Then they ask, where did you learn spanish from? ME: umm…my mother? Them: What?! I have to clarify that i am a hispanic convert and they look at me like say what? Any who am glad I found your blog. InshaAllah i will keep coming back to hear any more of your thoughts.

    wa salaam

  3. I “preach” the islamic way of living a lot at work – and to a certain extent my colleagues appreciate it… but ofcourse non will change 🙂

    I love our way of living – simple, easy, and uncomplicated

  4. Wa Alaykum Salaam 🙂
    realistic bird, I know…I’m kind of amused that we need a study to say this…but this really helps counter all those who say, “It makes no difference to me personally how much a woman covers up, I respect all women equally! If she wore a tent or a bikini, I’d think of her the exact same way.” Now I can tell them, “You’re not normal. It’s scientifically proven!”

    Umm_Ibraheem, that is another advantage of covering up: people really don’t know who you are, and when they can’t see everything, their manners tend to desert them. I guess it’s the less mannerly part of their brains that lights up when they see a niqabi walk by 😛
    Welcome to my bloggie, and thank you for taking the time to comment!

    Cookie Monster, Preach it, brotha! No, none will change…but they’ll respect you for being sure of your beliefs.

  5. Muwahidah says:

    asalamu aleykum sis

    subhanallah i dont know how these ppl think, they shud know this themselves..

    wallahi theres nothing more beautiful than a woman covered from the eyes of the strangers..

    i love niqaab 🙂

  6. Wa ‘AalykumusSalaam, and welcome to my blog, sis Muwahidah! 🙂 You’d think it would be obvious, right? lol but I guess not. And you know, nothing feels more beautiful than being covered up from the eyes of strangers! Alhamdulillah. I must say, I love it too.

Comments are closed.