Getting fit

The last month has seen me make some much-needed changes to my eating habits. The chocolate has been much much much reduced…it’s a much-loved friend, but getting reacquainted only once a week makes our love for each other stronger than staying in touch daily. Chalk it down to absence really making the heart fonder. Also, I’ve increased my water consumption a tad, and it’s making a huge difference in the Life of My Face.

The thing that has been helping meΒ  keep constant is this brilliant website that a beautiful friend shared. You set up a free account, and then get down to the heavy work of tracking your every morsel of food. If you eat a slice of toast with butter, log it in. A half-glass of milk, log it in. A Kit-Kat πŸ˜› ….yes, log it in. The beauty is that you get to see what percentage of your diet is Carbs, Protein, Fat, and Alcohol (this better be zero, ladies :p ). In addition to that, you can see the nutritional value of your day’s food intake, as in how much potassium, calcium, Vitamin B-12, etc. you are eating. Are you being good to your body, or are your abusing it with worthlessness? The charts here will tell you.

I was shocked by how few calories I eat a day…and it really motivates me to input healthy things into my daily food log. So, now, my calorie intake is still a bit low…but wow, is there no junk on there, or what? Well, except for the chocolate cake that mysteriously lands on there every once in a while!

This month, my goal is to add regular and routine exercise. We’ll see how it goes. Here’s to wishing me luck!

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life! and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Getting fit

  1. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Insha’Allah you will reach your intended goal, ameen.

    Hey that is a nice site! I will try it πŸ˜€

    I like fruits a lot but for some reason these days I’m not eating much of them, that is annoying me so I need to do something about that.

  2. Salaams πŸ™‚ ameen! You will love that site. It’s almost addicting lol. I could live on fruits, but oddly enough I can go without it for days before realizing it. And then, having a bite makes me feel like I’ve been thirsty all that while without it. If that makes any sense…

  3. realistic bird says:

    wasalaam,

    Yep I know what you mean! I ate a banana today and drank a glass of carrot juice, maybe I’ll have a kiwi later πŸ˜€

    Oh I haven’t had time to enter today but how do you enter pizza lol? You enter each ingredient alone?…I have some reading to do.

  4. Salaams πŸ™‚ Mmmmmmm a kiwi sounds good! I love the little soft/crunchy black seeds in them…and the bright cheery green of the flesh! Enjoy, sweetheart! And have one for me πŸ˜€

    You see that column on the left where it says “Add a Food,” right? I typed Pizza into there, and it gave me this There’s about 4 pages of pizza-related items (you might need to be logged in to see it). I’m sure one of those will describe your pizza. And remember that your home-made pizza is way healthier than the ones they’re are describing; I’m guessing they’re talking about take-out pizza. So, don’t feel any guilt! πŸ˜€

  5. Hey Salaams!

    Awesome – I am signing up too!

    BTW – very presumptious that only women read you blog πŸ˜‰


    The beauty is that you get to see what percentage of your diet is Carbs, Protein, Fat, and Alcohol (this better be zero, ladies :p ).

  6. Salaams πŸ™‚ LoL I knew I would get called on that πŸ˜› See, it seems to be majority ladies…but I *should* have included you gents 😳

    Sign up to that site…you’ll love it!

  7. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Thanks sis!

    Already saved some for you. πŸ˜€

    Eh it said I didn’t eat enough iron or vitamin E. :S This is very good info.

    • Salaam πŸ™‚ You’re welcome! And Oh.My.Allah that kiwi looks so good. I can practically feel the vitamin C from it bubbling in my veins!

      πŸ˜† I know, right?! Glad it’s helpful to you, too!

  8. Muwahidah says:

    mashallah keep up the good work inshallah youll reach your goal .. πŸ™‚

    the way you eat affects your weight a lot.. and not just your weight but your skin aswel.. just add a lot of water to your diet and inshallah it has good effects aswel.. πŸ™‚

  9. Muwahidah says:

    and btw on my blog i did a few posts about the benefits of fruits and subhanallah its amazing how many benefits you find in them and it encourages you to eat fruits much more …

  10. JazakiAllah khair for the encouragement, coz I need it! I noticed that even eating healthy didn’t help my skin…but the increased amounts of water definitely did. There was a time when I used to drink tons of water, and had clear skin…but I never made the connection between water and skin when I stopped the water and the zits started. Duh! Silly me.

    I’m going to read your fruity posts in a minute, sis πŸ™‚

  11. Muwahidah says:

    salamu aleykum sis…

    just wanna let u know that i did the benefits of pomegranates that u requestet πŸ™‚

    http://muwahidah.muslimpad.com/2009/03/12/benefits-of-fruits-pomegranates/

    enjoy : )

  12. Wa ‘alaykumus Salaam πŸ™‚ Oh yay! I’m checking it out right now! JazakiAllah khair! *hugs*

  13. Pingback: Oh, my achy breaky skin! « Digital Niqabi

Comments are closed.