I Swear the Media is Crazy

I know that even in these tough economic times, it’s possible to see the opportunities for fun and games, and it would be good to seize on as many of those opportunities as possible. Some things, though, I fail to see as an appropriate means for fun and games. For example, an article called Who’s the White House’s Hottest. This offends me on a couple levels. On the one hand, it sounds so hip and cool to be objectifying men instead of the usual objectification of women. On the other hand, objectification is never cool, regardless of gender, ethnicity, race, or whatever one’s particular fetish is.

On another level, a simultaneously deeper yet subtle level, it feels like we’re being encouraged to diminish the role of the White House, and of the people in the White House, at a time when the country is in a very real economic meltdown. It’s almost like someone is saying, “Don’t worry, it’ll all be ok…look how many hotties we have to take care of our problems.” And, if it takes longer than expected to put everything right again, well, at least we have something pretty to look at in the meantime. It’s furthering the stereotype that good-looking people are better, better at everything: better at their jobs, better at handling their personal lives, etc.  I also don’t think it’s going to be very effective on the tens of thousand of people being laid off almost every week, on the middle class people who are going to soup kitchens for food, on folks who are trying to save their homes, or on those who might have give up a few necessities just to keep their heads above water. On the giggling few left over, it might work…but they are not going to be a majority by the time this year is finished and done.

I’m too much of a realist for pretty boy shows to do anything for me. An article shown further down the list at Huffington Post, Job Losses Show Breadth of Recession, holds more vital knowledge for us. And if you must ogle pictures of men in high places, then I recommend the slideshow called, The Men Who Made Millions as Merrill Lost Billions. I’ll warn you, it ain’t pretty. And those are just the guys of Merrill. Forget Lehman Brothers. Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Forget Citibank. Forget AIG. Mmmm mmmmm mmmmmmmm, how’s that for hot, huh?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in In the News, Think About It and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Swear the Media is Crazy

  1. I think it is justifyable for people to be on a little bit of a high with the Obama administration. The team is a young, vibrant, and to a large extent untested. Also, keeping the current scenario workdwide in mind, I think a “lighter” mood helps get through some of the difficult days.

    However, I feel that all this is being built up to be like a pack of cards. I think in politics, muddy waters are better than something which you can see right through. It will only take for one card to slip, and the Obama administration will start suffering big time.

    I really hope people dont put all their eggs in one basket and believe Obama has the Midas touch – all good things in moderation I think!

    (That’s enough metaphors in one comment I think :D)

    • I understand the whole lightening the mood thing…but there are some things that should just be too unseemly to consider. Ok, I’m old-fashioned that way 😀

      I think part of the reason for this hyper-optimism is to prolong the life-span of the house of the cards. I have my bets on Obama making it through the eventual back-to-reality moment relatively unblemished. He won’t have the Clintonesque scandals to his name (I am guessing he is too clean for that) and everything can too easily be blamed on Bush, and on his largely Clinton-era cabinet.

      Mmmmm…that’s me being hyper-cynical, but that’s just to counter the crazy optimism.

      And of course, you make really good points in analyzing the situation. Thank you 🙂

Comments are closed.