Is This a Sign of Introversion?

Several people have mentioned to me that they talk to their plants. I felt really weird to say, “Actually, no, I don’t do that.” I vowed that I would try that out next time I’m in the garden for a prolonged period of time. We were doing some weeding and pruning in our garden today, and I thought it would be a good time for me and the rose bushes to come to speaking terms. For some reason, it didn’t happen. I pruned, I weeded, they submitted to my hacking silently, and we basically went about our business silently. Apparently, the only non-human thing I can “talk” to is this Edit box, and I don’t think this is unusual enough to qualify as an out-of-the-ordinary form of social interaction.

I’m trying to figure out how people can talk to plants. I don’t get it. I can tell the plant, “You’re bad! You scratched me!” Or “You’re awesome, those are some amazing roses this time!” That doesn’t qualify as a dialogue, though. So, I’m wondering if I’m just too introverted to socialize with my plants? Or something. People who talk to their plants say that it is “therapeutic” and “relaxing.” I find it to be the opposite, mainly because I want a response. Not hearing a response is frustrating! You know what I really like? I like talking to my family while we’re all gardening together. The most heated discussions still manage to stay pretty calm and focused when we discuss them in the presence of The Plants. And when I’m alone in the garden, I feel the cobwebs being swept free from my mind, and I gain some awesome clarity. Doesn’t do too much for the plants, but it’s a wonderful release for me.

Does anyone of you talk to your plants? How do you do it?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Think About It and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Is This a Sign of Introversion?

  1. Umm Travis says:

    hahaha!

    I talk to my cats all the time and it made the house a lot livlier. Before that, I would sometimes talk to myself cuz I was alone a lot and it made things better. At least now I dont feel crazy with the cats.

    I dont have plants though. I kill those. HA!

    • It is *fun* talking to cats! They sit there and pay attention, their ears twitch at you every now and then, and when they get bored, they just turn their faces away or walk off. Hilarious! I wish I had cats to talk to…because I do talk to myself (and yes, it does make me feel crazy) πŸ˜†

      The trick to not killing plants is to get the hardiest ones you can find. Roses and cacti/succulents are perfect for people like us.

  2. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    I don’t literally talk to plants but there are different ways of communication when you cleaning the leaves is like you are petting it, when you are watering it you are feeding it, when you appreciate its beauty you are complimenting it.

    Though if you want to be verbal you might ask a plant if it is fine today and if it is wilted or something say “yes, you do look tired today, maybe you should rest or here some water will help you” πŸ˜›

    • Wasalaam πŸ™‚ Oh, my…you’ve given me some good tips to get started! I’m going to give this a whirl next time I’m alone with my roses πŸ˜† Thank you! *wub*

  3. realistic bird says:

    I have a funny story well at my expense lol, remember when I posted by mistake something on the photo blog and not here? I did it again the other day! I posted the above in another blog altogether on a topic about dua, sheesh I’m offically a nut giving advice how to talk to plants. πŸ˜† I learned my lesson open one blog at a time. *hopes she doesn’t do it again*

    You’re welcome habibteh πŸ˜€

    wasalaam

    • πŸ˜† Noooooo, you’re not a nut…you’re a bird looking out at all the nuts on the blogosphere! Oh, I’m sorry…but I had to laugh…WITH you, though, not AT you! πŸ˜€

  4. realistic bird says:

    Lol! Yeah I seem to have found a few khehehe, j/k πŸ˜›

    It is why I told it, it is a funny story. πŸ˜€

  5. Digital Jewel says:

    LOOOL @ birdy. Heheheheeeeeeee! Oh maann, sorry granny… 😳

  6. Digital Jewel says:

    Whats ze shock for? πŸ˜•

  7. Digital Jewel says:

    Yeah…but why’s that shocking?

    Okay, fine. Whatever. <_< I guess my visa has expired so I’ll leave Blogistan and never return.

    • 😯 Look again. You have a non-expiring visa. If you don’t come back…I’m going to have to smack, tickle, or force-feed chocolate to you. Whichever I think is worse. πŸ˜›

  8. Digital Jewel says:

    Oh noooooooo. Notttt the chocolate. Anything but chocolate. Please. πŸ˜₯

    πŸ˜›

Comments are closed.