Posting Islamically

I’ve been reluctant to write about religion, particularly continuing my x365 Hadeeth series. Even though it’s just copy-paste, with not much commentary on my part, it makes me a bit uncomfortable. I know why I feel discomfort, and it’s not all to do with my own lack of practice. No, it’s got more to do with other people. I know, how lame to be affected by other people.

This morning, I realized which other person it is who holds me back. It’s someone far, far away, who also blogs. Her blog makes me wonder, does the Islamic content on my blog mirror my own insides, or not so much? Do I post it to give you an impression of me, or is it there to just give you something to think about? I think my purpose is the latter…but until I gain a better insight into the purity of my intentions, I think I’m staying away from Islamic-oriented posts. Like all my phases, expect this to not last too long. Now that I’ve written about it, I’m on my path to recovery.

And if this was totally confusing, imagine what it’s like being inside my head!

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Posting Islamically

  1. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    No it is quite clear, I know what you mean. The good thing is you thought about it and refelected on your intentions. I must say I enjoyed your islamic posts even though I read just a few of them, I learned something new. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Umm Travis says:

    Assalamu alaykum,

    I find posting Islamically helps me get closer to what I believe, and most of what I write is “working through it”… I dont get why others have problems with what we experience at any given time.. we can try to encourage/advise each other but why ppl have to get mean and nasty is downright inappropriate! It is your blog do WHATEVAH u like and just hit the delete button when meanies leave their (lack of) two cents!

  3. muwahidah says:

    assalamu aleykum..

    like sis Umm Travis said its your blog and post what you want (i enjoy ur blog mashallah)..

    subhanallah when u post islamic posts, you benefit and you never know who might get effected by your post and u get that huge reward.. ๐Ÿ™‚

    and like the prophet saws said.. “ballighu 3anni walaw ayah” Which means: โ€œConvey from me, even if it was one verse.โ€ (Narrated by al-Bukhariyy.) ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. biscuitinabasket says:

    Islam is such a vast and diverse religion; it is setup and created to ensure that the human learns something everyday, and then looks at themself to apply the knowledge gained.

    It is very nice to know that people look at themself, review their belief in this life, and try and better themself in every step of the way.

    I always enjoy your posts – religious or not, and always try and take something away from the words which I read! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. realistic bird, Wasalaam ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m happy if you learned something right along with me!

    Umm Travis, Wa ‘AlaykumusSalaam ๐Ÿ™‚ yes, it is mostly about working through it…and also a place to jot down what I read or heard. Alhamdulillah, I don’t get people being mean and horrible (well, haven’t for a while, anyhow)…just sometimes, I wonder about myself and why I write what I write ๐Ÿ˜€

    muwahidah, Wa ‘AlaykumusSalaam ๐Ÿ™‚ All what you said is so true, and woohoo! you taught me that hadith in Arabic! JazakiAllah khair, sweet sis, for your kindness!

    biscuit, true say…it is a religion about learn, do, and reflect.

    All of you, thank you for your input. You’ve all encouraged me a great deal. I really didn’t expect this outpouring of affection ๐Ÿ˜€ *group hug–girls only ๐Ÿ˜› Cookie Monster, here’s a cookie*

  6. umamr says:

    Dear sister, I know how you feel. I think this is good to question our intentions before we are questioned by Allah about them. But I do not agree that you stop your self writing or posting Islamically. I guess it is shaytan that prevents you, he would not like anyone to do good deeds. I would say review your intention and get on with writing, so long you have the knowledge.
    I would like to invite you to my blog: raysofknowledge.blogspot.com

    I wonder can i add your blog address to my list of useful sites?

    many thanks
    umamr

    • umamr, welcome to my blog, and of course I’d be honored to be listed on your blogroll! JazakiAllah khair. I didn’t really think of it in terms of shaytaan’s whisperings; it makes all the more sense since what I write Islamically is about things I learn…and if I’m not writing, then chances are high that my learning is not being reinforced. Which would, of course, make shaytaan very happy. Thank you for the food for thought. I shan’t stop, inshaAllah.

      I’m coming there right now ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. umamr says:

    Digital Nomad, I am pleased and thanks for visiting my newly born blog
    for your comment. I just need to apologise that although I clicked the publish button, I could not find your valuable comment under the article! Sometimes i seem not to get round electronic and all this modern stuff.

    UmAmr (Rowaa)

Comments are closed.