How do you sneeze?

I came across this article called The Six Secrets of Sneezing, and found an interesting blog-friendly passage:

How we sneeze could say something about us.
Of all the characteristics that potentially reveal our inner selves, I never thought sneezing could be one of them. However, body language expert Patti Wood says otherwise. She did Benadryl-sponsored study of 547 people and their sneeze habits, coming up with four types of sneezes that she believes are personality indicators.

  • The “Correct” carries Kleenex and is careful to cover her mouth when sneezing, meaning she’s respectful of others and likes to maintain a dignified disposition.
  • The “Supporter” tends to hold in sneezes rather than risk sneezing on someone, which indicates a quiet and caring character.
  • The “Expressive” makes a big production out of sneezing and often sneezes multiple times at once, possibly making her a showy and dominating person.
  • The “Driver” sneezes loudly but quickly, making her direct and forward-thinking.

Hmmmmmm….I used to be the second type, the Supporter: I’d hold back a sneeze or a cough till I’m practically choking, just so that I don’t disturb people around me. I don’t know when I had enough of torturing myself, but I’m now more of a “loud but quick” sneezer. The thing is, it’s still kind of embarrassing, no matter how quick I try to wrap it up. How stupid, right, to be embarrassed over an entirely physiological action? Well, anyway, what kind of sneezer are you? Or are you in a category of your own making?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Amusing Tidbits, In the News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to How do you sneeze?

  1. Hannan says:

    salam, oh quite interesting. I think I fall in the first category because we were brought up following the Sunnah, Alhamdulillah. We learnt that Allah Ta’ala loves sneezing and not yawning, as the latter shows laziness and lethargy. sneezing=alertness

  2. mems says:

    Frankly I very much doubt that one’s way of sneezing is a window into their personality. LOL. But I’ve been all those types of sneezers, except for Expressive, at one point in my life.

  3. Hanan, wa alaykum salaam, and welcome! 🙂 Good reminders, mashaAllah!

    mems, what?! You can’t be serious! Your sneeze says everything about you!!! 😆 Ok, maybe not 😉 But it reminded me of those blogthings quizzes that are around (What Taste are You, Are you Rain or Snow, What’s your Pop Star Name)…you know, completely silly and equally irresistible! 😀

  4. Hey salaams!

    I’m a driver! 😀

    I wonder if it is unhealthy to holdback the sneeze… wonder if the head implodes of something as a reaction 😀

  5. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Wow that’s cool to know 😀

    I’m a driver, most of the time they come so quickly I can’t control them. My family always says my sneezes are bigger than my size, hehe.

Comments are closed.