Torture, Democracy-style

Last night, Bill Moyers aired a gripping one hour show on the tactics we’ve been using as a nation. He featured a documentary film called “Torturing Democracy.” It contained interviewed with civilian and military lawyers, and showed segments on torture that were re-enactments of descriptions from declassified documents. Let me say, I’m sure it’s the tamer stuff that has been declassified, and yet it’s disturbing. I’d say that I don’t want to know what else we’ve done…but if it’s been done in our name, for our safety, with our own money, then we have duty to know. We owe it to ourselves to know who we, as a nation, are.

You can watch the documentary film online. And one final note: it really should have been called “Torturing Humanity,” because an inanimate construct couldn’t care less if it’s being tortured. But humanity, humanity is very much an animate construct. And it’s time we got close to the uncomfortable truth: we are torturing people, and in the process, we are torturing our humanity out of existence. No amount of voting in free elections can make up for that. Democracy will recover a hell of a lot faster than souls…ours and theirs.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in In the News, Think About It, World and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Torture, Democracy-style

  1. realistic bird says:

    I read an article about the new photos the other day I felt sick to my stomach and depressed. As a person who knows about it I was mad I couldn’t do anything to stop the suffering that I think is still ongoing.

    Is there really a true democracy anywhere?

  2. Ayan says:

    This reminds me of a documentary I watched in my 3 rd year Political Violence class. I’m not sure if you seen it, it’s called “Taxi to the dark side.” The logics behind torture is disgusting on sooo many levels. The fact that they use it as means to “prevent” or to ensure “security” is getting old now!

    inshAllah, true justice will be ensured in akhira!!

  3. Lisa says:

    I was really looking forward to this, but somehow my DVR stopped working just as it was coming on. The electricity shut off for a minute or two. There is sadly, no true democracy anywhere these days. Honestly, a monarchy like England is more democratic at this point.

Comments are closed.