Another shot

Roger Federer has the worst luck with the French Open. He is caught between losing it to Nadal, or potentially, losing it to the man who eliminated Nadal. Last weekend, he must have breathed a huge sigh of relief when Robin Soderling (like, who?) defeated Rafael Nadal in the fourth round. This weekend, he’s up against the very same Soderling in the final. In addition to that, he’s up against the challenge of tying Pete Sampras’s 14 Grand Slam wins. Talk about pressure, eh?!

We can only hope that this match yields tears of joy of Roger.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Couch Potato, In the News and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Another shot

  1. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Ah I haven’t watched tennis in ages! Wow that is a lot of pressure and who is this Soderling guy?! Now I have to look him up. Hope Roger wins, lol always fascinated that he cries when he wins.

    Never liked Nadal, I don’t know why hmmmm…

    • Wa’Alaykum Salaam!
      Crying when he wins is fine…it’s the crying when he loses that annoys me. It’s not that I have a problem with guys crying or anything, it’s just that it must really make the winner feel a bit guilty for defeating him! I just saw the video of him crying when Nadal won this year’s Australian Open, and I suddenly like Nadal a lot more 😕

      • realistic bird says:

        Wa’alykum asalaam sis!

        Great to have you back 😀

        Lol yeah though it makes more sense to cry when you lose than win. I guess it makes him who he is.

        • Awwww thank you! *wub*

          😆 It was the oddness of seeing it happen on stage and on international television. But true, it does make more sense to cry when losing!

  2. realistic bird says:

    Lol I just noticed the date, he won already! Hehe 😀

    http://nbcsports.msnbc.com/id/31151204/

  3. Yay, great minds think alike, cuz I don’t like Nadal either! 😛

    LOL @ his tears. Ahhh. 😛

  4. Hey salaams!
    I remember when R-Fed won his first title, I believe it was Wimbledon. When he won, I remember saying the same thing – Roger who?

    Federer is a class player, and although he may not have had consistent challengers against him like Sampras, you still have to go out there and win it.

    Ofcourse, Andy Murray will win Wimbledon this year! ;D

    • Wa’Alaykum Salaam,
      Hmmm if Nadal hadn’t been injured, he could have been that consistent challenger, and Wimbledon wouldn’t have been Roger’s lucky 15. Of course, the French might not have been Roger’s even luckier 14!

      Too bad on the Murray prediction/hope! 😛 Maybe next year?! 😀

  5. Lisa says:

    I also prefer Roger! Nadal just looks so rugged and unkept, like he came from a Tapas bar right before the match.

    Maybe Roger’s just busy thinking about his new bride and baby on the way? He was so good for so long and I think most people really respect him as the best in tennis this decade no matter what he does now. Hope he wins!

    • lol @ coming “from a Tapas bar.” I kind of was thinking he looks more like a soccer player than a tennis star.

      As of this weekend’s Wimby final, I prefer Roddick, also with a new bride (sans baby on the way). Ironic, because I cheered hard for Roger to win, and then was somewhat disappointed to see him win. Roger is definitely the greatest of this decade, and of all time based on his Grand Slam totals alone.

  6. The Ruler says:

    … And he won it. Whoo.

    But what was wrong with him at Queens? TT_TT ❤ Federer and hate Nadal. He's far too muscular and has far to many girls around him for my liking. Not really, but hey.

  7. The Ruler says:

    Andy Murray is an ugly guy who doesn’t deserve any win whatsoever. Tch.

  8. hey salaam sis :]

    u aint blogged in a loong time eh,
    hope your’re well.
    🙂

    • Wa’Alaykum salaam, sis! It has been quite a while…sorry about that! It’s like a long-lasting virus: when I have nothing to say for a few days, then I find myself devoid of stuff for weeks on end. It’s weird, but hey, at least the guy who (is currently lost) marries me will never have to complain about me talking too much 😛

Comments are closed.