I’ve moved back home…

I got tired of being alone, even though I had my sister visiting, but it still wasn’t the same.  So now I’m back “home” with my sister on her lovely, funky, blog, the place where my blogging venture was born. 😉  I have imported my posts here from my other blog, so that I can shut that one down with ease without missing my pearls of stupidity.  Haha!  The most absurd thing is that as I’m sitting here quietly typing away in the dark on my laptop, my brother is sitting downstairs making a racket typing some address with a typewriter.  Yes, we still have a typewriter, and my brother decided recently to go retro by typing any mailing addresses with it…  It is a true honor to be related to that man.

Just to warn you, I’m a bit ditzy, and have no intention of matching up to my sisters to eloquence in writing.  So yea, see you soon.  Really, very soon! 🙂  And I’ll leave you now with an amazing quote that I just read, which has nothing to do with anything I have written, but it is quite profound.

The tools of conquest do not necessarily come with bombs and explosions and fallout. There are weapons that are simply thoughts, attitudes, prejudices to be found only in the minds of men. For the record, prejudices can kill, and suspicion can destroy, and the thoughtless, frightened search for a scapegoat has a fallout all of its own for the children…the children yet unborn.
[-Rod Serling-]

About Thê Talkïng Pïnhêad

Just another girl who writes stuff, who thinks the world is screwed up, who believes things can change, who knows it most probably won't.
This entry was posted in Amusing Tidbits, Lets Get Personal, Quotables. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to I’ve moved back home…

  1. mm says:

    yay u posted again…missed ur posts!

  2. Oh yeah! Now I have one less blog to check up on! 😛 No one is more surprised and delighted that you are back here, lil sis! *muah muah muah*

  3. dots... says:

    I love typewriters.. and the sound of every “chick chick” of it ..
    its good to know you’d be back “very soon”
    and the quote is very interesting indeed.. thought provoking.. wanna read it over and over again ..

    🙂

  4. the crayon says:

    You have a typewriter?! Your brother is using it to mail letters?!
    Your brother sounds awesome, mashaAllah.

    I’m going to get me a typewriter someday, inshaAllah. Can’t be a proper journalist without a typewriter, now can you? 😛

    Looove the quote, it speaks the truth.

  5. Ajla says:

    Typewriter! Oh gosh, I can see how it would fit perfectly in a horror movie. All the screams…

    On a more serious note, that’s quite something. I thought I was so “retro” when I used a fax. xD

    I’m glad you two are back in the same blog, was actually checking this blog first and then was going to your blog and ask you “why ain’t active, sunshine”! Those were my exact words to be used, now I don’t need to. 😀

  6. Thanks mm!

    I didn’t know it was a hassle for you check up on an extra blog…sorry to have inconvenienced you, Nomad. 😦

    Hehe, I actually do agree about that dots… 🙂

    Crayola, that’s pretty cool that you’ll get a typewriter. I can rather imagine you with one! 😀

    Haha @ a horror movie. With it being all dark, that makes sense. Sunshine? Aww! Thanks Ajla. 😉

  7. Hey, Asalamalaykum!

    I wonder if it will be double trouble or twin delight 😀 Look forward to your posts as much as I do to DN’s posts! 🙂

  8. Welcome home.

    I found a new one. It’s funny, and lonely without Zii, but I manage. Since she always left me alone and went away for adventures when we both shared CP. Ah, the memories~

  9. A desi says:

    oh wow, sisterly love!

    my sister doesnt write or we could easily team up for some good stufff….

    all she does is write business proposals.. shux!

  10. realistic bird says:

    Salaam,

    Welcome back mesh! Family should stick together. Hmm I think we stil have a type writer somewhere in this house, never gets old! 😀

  11. realistic bird says:

    By the way I wanted to ask is it possible to just export certain posts from wordpress or the all blog has to go?

    Thanks

  12. realistic bird, Unfortunately, the whole blog has to go, as far as I know. 😦 You can later select multiple posts for deletion at once, which is kind of the reverse of the same thing (if you know what I mean).

  13. LOL Cookie Monster. I believe it’s more of the first, double trouble. 😉 Thanks!

    Yea, I noticed that, The Ruler. Ah well, sometimes having a different blogs has it’s own charm anyway. 😉

    Alhamdulillah for the sisterly luv. Hehe, too bad your sis isn’t into writing…but I get how it’s not for everyone. To be honest, I do love writing, but sometimes even blogging takes a lot out of me compared to my big sis. :X

    Ooh birdy! I missed you. I need to bug you soon inshaAllah… :X And thanks. 😉

  14. Salaam,

    Thank you dear DJ, miss your bugging! (can’t believe I said that 😛 )

    Urgh 😦 thanks sis DN, that is a hassle when you have hundreds of posts to delete, hmmm yalla I’ll find a way.

    • sis, Cookie Monster tweeted me that there is a way to do it, by editing the exported xml file and then removing the data you don’t want. From what he said, I think you have to remove data based on posts’ tags. He said he’d come and post more details in the coming days, inshaAllah. So, hang in there! 🙂

  15. realistic bird says:

    Oh cool, alhamdulilah! 😀 Right that makes sense to do that. Thanks a lot sis *hug*

  16. Hey salaams!
    Appologies for getting back late on this, but I was setting up a test environment on my PC so that I remember the instructions on this 😀

    From what I remember, WP has a limit to how much data it can import anyways, so you will have to edit the file anyways into chunks. This may have been fixed after v2.6

    Posts starts with the tag ….. and will end with You can remove these blocks should you require to do so.

    Another thing which I found and am playing with is a local setup of wordpress, so you can play and test imports of the blog. Check out this link! 🙂

    http://sixrevisions.com/tutorials/web-development-tutorials/using-xampp-for-local-wordpress-theme-development/

    Let me know if this was helpful, or if you require further help.

  17. Yusuf Smith says:

    As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    Assuming that you haven’t already deleted the other blog, it might be a better idea to leave it up but close the comments, so that anyone who finds an article of yours linked off another site will still find the article. You can then put a notice on the blog saying “I’m now blogging here: …”.

Comments are closed.