15th of Sha’ban

Here I am, sitting on my prayer rug, seeing the end of the 15th night of Sha’baan. The night feels very different from other nights, and I have no idea why I am so blessed to feel the difference. I have been nothing but forgetful of Allah this past year. I have filled my life with frivolity, and wonder if I can snap out of it. I have stumbled more times than I care to remember.

My soul is burdened with the errors of my conscious doing. My heart is cold with the number of black spots I have placed upon it. Yet, Allah in His Infinite Mercy has allowed me to see this night, and feel it’s quiet beauty. There is so much for me to pray for, so much for me to ask Allah’s Help and Guidance for. Not for the first time, I am afraid of myself. I am afraid of my inability to learn. I am afraid of my lead feet which keep dragging me backwards.

The night is coming quickly to an end. I have only an hour or so more to send durood to the Prophet صل الله عليه و سلم. Only an hour or so more to ask for forgiveness. And only that much less time to pray for the wonderful people I’ve been blessed to know.

So little time, so much to do.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 15th of Sha’ban

  1. Salaam,

    🙂 may Allah SWT forgive all our sins and help us learn from our mistakes, ameen.

  2. Wa’Alaykum Salam, realisticbird, and Ameen!

  3. Haris Gulzar says:

    Ameen to realisticbird’s prayers. May Allah SWT be pleased with us. Ameen

  4. Alisha says:

    ‘My soul is burdened with the errors of my conscious doing. My heart is cold with the number of black spots I have placed upon it. Yet, Allah in His Infinite Mercy has allowed me to see this night, and feel it’s quiet beauty.’

    That’s so true. Sometimes, after praying with full concentration, I feel an indescribable sense of peace and I feel the same way you do then, Allah is so Merciful, despite my wrongdoings he has allowed me to FEEL the beauty of Iman, Alhamdulillah.

  5. muwahidah says:

    Laylat al-Nusf min Sha’baan (the middle of Sha’baan) should not be singled out for worship
    I read in a book that fasting on the middle of Sha’baan is a kind of bid’ah, but in another book I read that one of the days on which it is mustahabb to fast is the middle of Sha’baan… what is the definitive ruling on this?

    Praise be to Allaah.

    There is no saheeh marfoo’ report that speaks of the virtue of the middle of Sha’baan that may be followed, not even in the chapters on al-Fadaa’il (chapters on virtues in books of hadeeth etc.). Some maqtoo’ reports (reports whose isnaads do not go back further than the Taabi’een) have been narrated from some of the Taabi’een, and there are some ahaadeeth, the best of which are mawdoo’ (fabricated) or da’eef jiddan (very weak). These reports became very well known in some countries which were overwhelmed by ignorance; these reports suggest that people’s lifespans are written on that day or that it is decided on that day who is to die in the coming year. On this basis, it is not prescribed to spend this night in prayer or to fast on this day, or to single it out for certain acts of worship. One should not be deceived by the large numbers of ignorant people who do these things. And Allaah knows best.

    Shaykh Ibn Jibreen.

    If a person wants to pray qiyaam on this night as he does on other nights – without doing anything extra or singling this night out for anything – then that is OK. The same applies if he fasts the day of the fifteenth of Sha’baan because it happens to be one of the ayyaam al-beed, along with the fourteenth and thirteenth of the month, or because it happens to be a Monday or Thursday. If the fifteenth (of Sha’baan) coincides with a Monday or Thursday, there is nothing wrong with that (fasting on that day), so long as he is not seeking extra reward that has not been proven (in the saheeh texts). And Allaah knows best.

    Sheikh Muhammed Salih Al-Munajjid

    http://www.islamqa.com/en/ref/8907

    • A few years ago, I made this post on or around the 15th of Sha’ban, and it generated a similar query. My response was the following, and perhaps it might help.

      Thank you for your wonderful input. It gave me something to ask our Sheikh about, and was a learning opportunity for me, so jazakallah khair. According to the Sheikh that I asked, you are certainly correct that the various Hadith related to the 15th of Sha’ban are weak. So, I asked him, how can we follow them? He says that the consensus is that since the various hadith do coincide in content (they all basically do say the same things, or contain the same main elements), it’s not wrong to abide by them. Also, since it concerns a matter of nafl worship, it does not weaken the imaan to either follow this practice or not.
      So the long and short of that was, believing in the value of this night does not become bid’ah and not believing in it does not become a means for weakening the imaan. It is, to me, an illustration of the richness and diversity in the many correct ways to practice our deen, subhanAllah!

      Of course, nothing is better than seeking guidance from a trusted scholar of your own madhab, who can discuss the legitimacy of the various ahaadith regarding this, and seeking guidance from Allah as to what is the correct way…

  6. PK_# says:

    Aameen @ RB

    & JazakiAllaahu khair Muwahida.

Comments are closed.