Ramadan 2

I didn’t get to read Qur’an on the first day of Ramadaan, so today is catch up day, and then inshaAllah, I’ll stay on track.

As I was reading Surah Baqarah, this passage with the supplications of Ibrahim and Isma’il alayhis salaam begged me to stop and reach for the translation.

And (remember) when the Lord of Ibrâhim (Abraham) [i.e., Allâh] tried him with (certain) Commands, which he fulfilled. He (Allâh) said (to him), “Verily, I am going to make you Imam (a leader) for mankind (to follow you).” [Ibrâhim (Abraham)] said, “And of my offspring (to make leaders).” (Allâh) said, “My Covenant (Prophethood) includes not Zâlimûn (polytheists and wrong-doers).” (124) And (remember) when We made the House (the Ka’bah at Makkah) a place of resort for mankind and a place of safety. And take you (people) the Maqâm (place) of Ibrâhim (Abraham) [or the stone on which Ibrâhim (Abraham) A.S. stood while he was building the Ka’bah] as a place of prayer (for some of your prayers, e.g. two Rak’at after the Tawâf of the Ka’bah at Makkah), and We commanded Ibrâhim (Abraham) and Ismâ’il (Ishmael) that they should purify My House (the Ka’bah at Makkah) for those who are circumambulating it, or staying (I’tikâf), or bowing or prostrating themselves (there, in prayer). (125) And (remember) when Ibrâhim (Abraham) said, “My Lord, make this city (Makkah) a place of security and provide its people with fruits, such of them as believe in Allâh and the Last Day.” He (Allâh) answered: “As for him who disbelieves, I shall leave him in contentment for a while, then I shall compel him to the torment of the Fire, and worst indeed is that destination!” (126) And (remember) when Ibrâhim (Abraham) and (his son) Ismâ’il (Ishmael) were raising the foundations of the House (the Ka’bah at Makkah), (saying), “Our Lord! Accept (this service) from us. Verily! You are the All-Hearer, the All-Knower.” [] (127) “Our Lord! And make us submissive unto You and of our offspring a nation submissive unto You, and show us our Manâsik [] (all the ceremonies of pilgrimage – Hajj and ‘Umrah), and accept our repentance. Truly, You are the One Who accepts repentance, the Most Merciful. (128)

This day is going really slowly. Fasting during summer is so different from fasting when the days are shorter. It reminds me of when I was a kid, which was the last time I fasted such long days during Ramadan. [Oh, the other thing that reminded of fasting in childhood was this awesome post by Nadia of The Purple Journal. Definitely worth a read.] When we were kids, my brother and I used to insist on fasting with the “big people,” and by five in the afternoon, with three more hours to go, we’d be listless and aching with hunger. We’d smell all the food my mom was cooking, and she’d tell us to set the table. So, we’d set the table, and as my mom would be done with the samoosas, and bread rolls, and pies, and what-not, we’d start piling our plates. My dad would bring out the fruit platter, and put an orange or banana or apple onto our plates. Sometimes there would piles of strawberries staring at us, and big juicy nectarines. Our plates would get so full that my mom decided to pull out these mini serving trays and make us use those for ourselves instead of the dinner plates. And you know, although we could never finish what we piled onto our trays, we’d repeat the same thing the next day. It helped those three final hours before iftar somehow go easier.

As adults, we kind of appreciate the long days better than the short days. When the days are short, it seems like a mad scramble just to get a minimum amount of food prepared. Now, there is time to spare, and we get our Qur’an quota read without feeling rushed.

But, I’m already hungry. It’s not just because I missed suhoor this morning, it’s because my body automatically wants food at 2:30 pm!

PS: Comments that I don’t understand and that come from left field will not be published. It’s not that I don’t appreciate the time you took to read and comment. I do appreciate it. It’s just that Ramadan is not the time for me to engage in futile discourse. I hope you understand. Know this: I smiled to read you, even though I didn’t exactly get you. May Allah bless you, ameen. And to everyone else, my comment and responding ability will be curtailed for the forseeable future…a whole new project just fell into my lap and might suck up my “extra” time. But I am reading your blogs, and I am enjoying every word you all write.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Ramadaan '09. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ramadan 2

  1. I could smell food all day today. Because our next door neighbor decided to have a barbeque on a fairly breezy, hot day. Windows were open and delicious smells wafted in all day long. ;_;

  2. nadia says:

    We used to pile up our plates as kids! We live in an apartment now, and I’ve never smelled anything from the neighborhood during iftaar. Oh, I still scramble to prepare iftaar, because when I reach home at 5 pm from work, I’d like to take a short nap to charge my batteries.

    PS: Thanks for the mention 🙂

  3. nadia says:

    You’ve just been awarded here!

  4. TRN, Oh my God, that sounds like it might have been torture; well, for me it would have been torture because I can’t stand the smell of meat.

    nadia, Gosh, 5 pm was when we used to open our fast a couple of years ago…I’m so glad we don’t have that mad dash to get food do the table anymore. And the post-Asr nap is killer good!

    You’re welcome 😀 and thank you! I’ve been thinking about this tag/award of yours all week…will type it up in a bit, inshaAllah. Thank you! *hugs*

  5. Hey salaams!

    Ramadan is an amazing experience for us this year with our fast lasting for 16.5 hours; but agree with you – I am getting to pray and read quran in peace; iftar and dinner are one meal so there is a sense of diet control 😀 and the length of the days this year and inshallah the next are a good indication of the huge days to come soon.

    In all of this, one’s patience strengthens, and inshallah plays a part to make us better people!

Comments are closed.