Fabulous Obsessions

The wonderfully creative and colorful blogger Nadia, of The Purple Journal, has seen fit to award our blog with the Freaking Fabulous Award! Ahhh, it’s been so long since I’ve been tagged with an award, that blogging suddenly feels all shiny and new again for me! Thank you, dear sis πŸ™‚ The Jewel will come in with her five obsessions later, inshaAllah.

freakingfabulousaward

Rules of the Award:

  • List five current obsessions.
  • Pass the award on to five more fabulous blogs.
  • On your post of receiving this award, make sure you include the person that gave you the award and link it back to them.
  • When you post your five winners, make sure you link them as well.
  • Don’t forget to let your winners know they won an award from you by leaving a comment on their blog.

All right, so here goes with my obsessions. They’re not that exciting, but I spent days thinking about this; I swear, I am so completely out of touch with myself. Also, I’ve happened to have given up a few obsessions lately, so I had to dig deep to find myself!

1. I am obsessed with water. I have four water bottles (there used to be five), and I never ever go anywhere without one. My mom, anytime we’re going somewhere, will usually ask, “Did you take your water?” Or when we get out of the car, she’ll hand me my water bottle, saying, “Don’t forget this! It’s still cold!” I realized one day when I was passing by a mirror in South Coast Plaza’s Saks Fifth Avenue (haha I don’t shop there, I go there in relation to my fifth obsession),Β  how absolutely dorky I look with a water bottle in my hands–and I didn’t care! When it’s Ramadan, it’s really difficult to leave my water bottle behind when I head outside. And speaking of water, I am going to be posting a lot about it in the coming days, inshaAllah.

2. I obsess over keeping our computers clean. The firewall is a must; I run my anti-virus once a week and I sometimes run Spybot and LavaSoft AdAdaware two or three times a week. Not only that, but I used to be so paranoid about keeping our computer clean that even if someone wanted to install a font file, I’d give them the third-degree to see if they really need it, where it came from, and by the time I was done with them, they’d just quit and say they don’t want it anymore. One day, I decided I was being way too paranoid and draconian, so I let my siblings install this really cool screensaver, of fireworks going off (it was in honor of the 4th of July)–no third-degree questioning involved. As soon as the screensaver was installed, it crashed my computer the first time it ran. I went back to grilling them like they were informants on a drug lord.

3. I love makeup, and I love simple, natural method of face care. These are competing obsessions, because makeup is anything but simple or natural. I can’t go to sleep without washing my face with a really inexpensive olive oil soap made in Syria, and if I use anything else, my face complains. Rue the day they stop making that soap. And I just counted the number of foundations I have, and it’s no less than 5, and I really truly have no idea how this happened. I think I will not be buying another foundation product for the rest of my life.

4.Β I love digital photography. Sometimes, I get so obsessed with taking pictures of food, that my dad goes, “Are we ever going to get to eat this?! Or will it be stale by the time you’re done clicking?” The fascination began when I was an undergrad and had to do a web project for class. While everyone else used pictures taken from the web, my dad’s friend had just bought a digital camera (1 megapixel, back in the day!) and let us be the first to use it. So, my mom spent the day cooking (it was a food-based web site), and I spent the afternoon snapping. Some of the pictures came out so good according to some school administrator (it was really all the camera’s doing), that she complained to my professor that a student was, and I quote, “using school resources to run a business.” haha that amused me, and started a love affair that I just can’t turn my back on.

5. I love to sew, analyze clothing, and admire textile art of all sorts. Even though it’s been a while since I’ve sewn anything, it is one of my enduring loves. I tend to look at what people wear, and try to figure out how it was made, the mechanics of a garment’s construction. I also tend to notice flaws in the way a garment fits, and I think that mass production of clothing is one of the worst things to happen to human beings. It really pains me to see everyone dressed the same in ridiculously uncreative clothing, that, to make matters worse, reveal flaws rather than enhance positive body characteristics. I go to the mall just to look at the clothes, not to buy them…and then I go to the fabric store to look for patterns that are similar to the ones I liked.

And now, I get to pick 5 people to pass this award on to. This is fun, but it’s also a wee bit difficult, for I read so many absolutely fabulous bloggers, mashaAllah. So, I’ll pick the ones from each of the different groups I read, and hope you guys pass it on further to the rest of the wonderful bloggers out there:

1. Realistic Bird of Zee Thoughts; she never fails to inspire me, and has an aura of strength, calm and peace that is unmatched.

2. Ajla of Naturally Dramatic; it is a pleasure reading her confident yet realistic takes on life, and I so enjoy reading of her growth spiritually, philosophically, and professionally.

3. Dot of The Lost Dot; this blogger is never ever boring, and always has posts and pictures that make you smile and think. Her Last Dot message of this week was powerfully simple.

4. Falak of Starry Eyed Book Lovers; she will make you laugh so much, you will cry. And then you’ll name a star after her.

5. Raspberry Scrubs; she is a blogger new to me, discovered via twitter (a semi-obsession πŸ˜‰ ), and I have to say, I love reading her thoughts on life. And what a cool name is Raspberry Scrubs?

I’ll be obsessively checking your blogs, ladies, for your lists! πŸ™‚

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Tagged!. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Fabulous Obsessions

  1. nadia says:

    Wow, I love your list!

    β€œusing school resources to run a business” – that’s a major compliment! Do you still have those pictures? Can we see them, please? πŸ™‚

    I recently nagged my husband to buy me a sewing machine, and when he did, I didn’t know what to do with it. I just saw my mom sew one day and decided that I wanted to do it as well. So far, I’ve only done repairs/alterations etc. haven’t sewn anything from scratch. Did you take sewing classes?

    PS: Can’t wait for the water post πŸ™‚

  2. 1/ I’m obsessed with water bottles, not necessarily the water in them.
    2/ Literal cleaning, yes.
    3/ Astral moisturiser FTW
    4/ Most photographers tell me that a good camera means nothing. And here you tell me that it was all the camera’s doing. -_-
    5/ The last time I tried sewing, I tried to tighten a dress, but it went horribly out of shape.

  3. jman says:

    I would change the bottles if i were you. Plastic bottles start decomposing after a certain period. The rest i leave to your imagination.

    http://www.iwwwrite.blogspot.com

  4. realistic bird says:

    Thank you so much sis! πŸ˜€ I don’t know what to say *shy* thank you for your kind words and congrats to you too for receiving the award.

    Gosh this is going to be hard, each of us have to award to someone new, right?

    Haha you remind me of a friend who always had a bottle of water with her.

  5. Specs says:

    I love makeup too! Looking at it more than wearing it. But I’m up to date on the latest makeup products because I just love the smell (I’m weird, I know πŸ˜‰ )

    Enjoyed your list! And the 5 blogs you tagged. I believe I’ve never been to them before. Heading over now!

  6. Nadia, Oh, thank you!

    In retrospect, it was a compliment, but when my professor sent me an email saying, “we need to talk, come to my office,” I was so scared, I couldn’t process what he was saying after that. I wonder if I have any of them–I’ll check my disks and see what I have. It was my first time with a digi cam, and I had no idea what I was doing, and since there was no flickr around back then, it didn’t occur to me that I should actually save them.

    Sewing is great fun–way less messy than cooking! Yes, I did take classes back in high school, and also in college. We have a system here called “Adult Education” where the classes are really cheap, and they’re taught by professional fashion designers/seamstresses…so I got to learn a lot very easily, alhamdulillah. You should definitely take a class or two–you won’t regret it! Have fun with your sewing machine, sis! πŸ™‚

    TRN, Water bottles are funky, eh? I wonder if they have anime-printed ones? πŸ˜€
    In my case, it really was about the camera, coz it was only the second time I used one in my entire life, and I had no idea what I was doing. The first camera I bought was an expensive SLR, and since I was clueless, the pictures were quite boring…so I returned it. The digi cam was so easy to use, that I really think it’s about the camera for me. For others, it’s more about the person behind the camera…until I try out anoter SLR, I’ll always think it’s the cam. πŸ™‚

    jman, Hmmmm, you’re just giving me more of a reason to get more water bottles! I recently did buy a new one, and that’s the one I’m using most. The older ones, I only use them when I’m feeling nostalgic. How long do they take before they start to decompose?

    No, your comment was not deleted…for some reason, it went to the Spam folder πŸ˜•

    realisticbird, You’re welcome, and yes, it does get difficult! Tags are fun–until you get to the part of who to torment next πŸ˜› I tried to expose new bloggers and people who are in varying parts of the blogosphere.

    lol At least the water bottle thing is not too uncommon! πŸ˜€

    Specs, Makeup makes my world go round…even when I’m not wearing it (which is usually lol). And, you know, makeup does smell quite nice πŸ˜›

    I’m glad you found a few new blogs there! Enjoy! πŸ˜€

  7. When you said you obsessed about keeping ur computer clean, i thought you actually meant keeping it clean like scrubbing the keyboard and wiping the monitor, like i do. Well not scrubbing it, that way ill have missing letters and numbers, but just wiping it. They do say theres more bacteria on a keyboard then on a loo seat πŸ˜€

    Congrats on the award, you really do deserve it! πŸ˜€

  8. jman says:

    Thank you for not deleting my comments!

    I would say after probably after a few months the plastic starts to decompose. But i dont know. Maybe someone can advise!

    I had a bottle which i used for probably 6 six years (but have got rid of now).

    I now use a mango lassi bottle (washed obviously). I drink water me! πŸ™‚

    http://www.iwwwrite.blogspot.com

  9. Raspberry says:

    Assalamu Alaikum Sis!

    Awee thank you so much for the award. It’s a first for me! YAY :o) You totally made my day and what you said about my blog was so sweet. Many Thanks to you…BTW you do deserve this Frigging Fabulous award you have an AWESOME BLOG SIS!

  10. muwahidah says:

    mashallah mubarak on your award sister:)
    u really have an amazing blog mashallah i always come for a quick visit πŸ™‚
    and jzk for introducing us to new blogs πŸ™‚

  11. Joud says:

    Congrats on the award!

    I also take a water bottle with me wherever I go! And now that it’s Ramadan it feels so weird without it, like a part of me is missing…
    And I loveee that Syrian soap, it’s brilliant- every summer I bring a bunch of bars back with me. And don’t worry hun, they’ve been making it for hundreds of years, I doubt they’ll stop any time soon. πŸ˜€

  12. falakk says:

    Thank you for the award! Squee! (And I apologise for the late reply. I am ALWAYS late with my Reader!)

    I love keeping my computer clean. I do it ALL THE TIME. My sisters find it very annoying! πŸ˜›

    <33

  13. AD says:

    That is a tag nicely done my dear!

    cleanliness surely has its obsession and i agree completely with you on the make up point πŸ™‚

  14. [[[ x smiley x ]]], oooh, I keep it clean that way too! I have a bottle of rubbing alcohol within reach, and a microfiber cloth, just so I can rub it down every few days. But someone seems to have walked off with my rubbing alcohol *grrr*

    Thank you, sweetness! I really wish I could have nominated my entire blog roll, coz I only visit fabulous blogs (even if I don’t comment much)!

    jman, you’re welcome! I could use a sip of mango lassi right about now!:D

    Raspberry, wa ‘alaykum salam πŸ™‚ You’re welcome, and I’m glad you enjoyed it! πŸ™‚

    muwahidah, thank you πŸ™‚ I don’t think it’s half as amazing as it should be–I’m a lazy blogerette, who gets side-tracked way too easily!

    Joud, Thank you πŸ™‚ Here’s to hundreds more years of Syrian soap! πŸ˜€

    falakk, lol you’re welcome, hon! I’m usually pretty late too, especially lately.

    Annoy them sisters–they love you for it, I’m sure πŸ˜›

    AD, Thank you, sweetheart πŸ™‚ The thing with cleanliness is that once you start, it’s really hard to stop!

  15. Alisha says:

    @ 3rd obsession- When I get a product that works for me, even I fear that they might stop making that product in the future. Finding a suitable product is harder for me because I have sensitive skin, can be very annoying when trying out new products that promises miracles -only to have an acne breakout the next day!

    • I feel you! Anything that promises miracles usually ends up being a humongous nightmare. Even if they don’t make my skin erupt, at the very least they’ll feel yucky. The only thing I hate about makeup and related products: the drama of a failed product! 😦

Comments are closed.