Peering out into the world…

Hello. Anyone out there? Or have I alienated you all so thoroughly that I’ve been banished from your bookmarks lists? Well, I guess there’ll be no response from those who’ve (rightfully) banished me, eh?

So, today, I decided to log into this blog account, and had to pause for a few heartbeats to remember my username and password. I didn’t even want to face the state of the email Inbox for this blog. What motivated to log in, you may wonder? The beautifully realistic bird showed up in my other Inbox, and reminded me of the hobby I’d forgotten about. What have I been doing in the meantime that I’d managed to obliterate this blog from my memory banks, you ask? Not much, I must answer. Studying, planning a business, backing out of planning a business, planning the business again. I developed ulcers–I know, I’m supposed to be too young, but I guess Allah is reminding me of my fragility. I treated said ulcers with nothing but herbal remedies, and alhamdulillah I’ve never felt better. I’ve been snapping with my camera, while not photo-blogging, and keep vacillating on whether or not to upgrade my picture-taker…and still haven’t come to a decision. And I’ve managed to get a cold a total of three times since the turn of the decade. Exciting, eh?

I must say, I feel like I’ve got nothing left to blog about. Some days, I read the news, and don’t even have an opinion. Other days, I read the news and want to ask the author, “Really? You only came to this conclusion now?” Other times, I read an article and wonder what they were smoking when they came up with that particular theory (whatever the theory was). At the end of the day, I realize I’m entirely too critical for my own good, or entirely to vacuous for the Internet’s good, and so I just let it go. That’s my nature, to let things go, and if there is one thing I’ve noticed about blogging, it’s that it forces me to never let things go. Is that good, or is that bad? I don’t know; all I know is that it occasionally gets to be exhausting. And with the Twittering and the Flickring, it really did get to be overwhelming. All that hyper-networking was doing my head in.

Then, I logged in here…and saw some comments that made me see stars. Oh, the beautiful comments made my day, they honestly truly did. But there were some others that made me almost bust a blood vessel. Seriously, if you think I’ve got a chip on my shoulder, fine. Tell me so. But accusing someone you don’t even know and have probably only even read very little from of being “judgmental and thinking God has Enlightened you” is over the line. Yes, I have opinions. That’s why I blog! I’m not enlightened. Again, that is why I blog! Then, they compounded their ridiculousness by thinking I’m censoring comments. First of all, if I did censor comments, it’d be no crime against you–it would just be my house rules. Secondly, given that my last post was for Eid al Fitr of last year, it doesn’t take genius mathematical abilities to realize I’ve quite let this blog go. It’s not you, it’s me. Really.

However, I must thank such individuals for freeing me from the blogger’s malaise I’d buried myself under. You made me realize I do have still a few more things to opine on. So, thank you.

And a humongous thank you to those who still visit, and took the time to email me. I expected to see a flat zero line on the stats box, but I was given a pleasant jolt of surprise.  I can’t promise that I’ll blog frequently or at length, but I’ll certainly be around, inshaAllah. But before I blog, I must do something about updating that Ramadaan banner up there.

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life! and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Peering out into the world…

  1. Jewel says:

    Hahahaha. 😀

    Anyways…keep the banner…Ramadan is around the corner anyway, right? 😛

  2. Hey salaams!

    Welcome BACK!!

    A few of us did wonder – “what happend? where did she/they go?” etc etc etc

    Great to see you back…. and hope to see more posts soon too!

  3. Umm Afraz says:

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa Rahmathullahi wa Barakaathuhu!

    A warm welcome back from your pretty-long hiatus!

    How have you (both) been doing? Insha Allah, looking forward to seeing more posts 🙂

    Oh yeah..the banner…man…its been wayyyyy tooo looonnngg since Ramadan..a couple of months away from a year! Probably you can change the old Ramadan banner to a newer one =D

    Wassalaamu Alaikum!

  4. eshev says:

    Asalaam alaikum wa Rahmatullah ~ I know how you feel! Still reading ~ ~ may Allah give you khair inshaAllah…

  5. Welcome backk!
    missed you!
    😀

  6. Cookie Monster, Wa Alaikum Salaam…I actually went nowhere, and just felt blogged out. I don’t know why this happens, but there it is. Thank you for coming back! 🙂

    Umm Afraz, Wa Alaikum Salaam Wa Rahmatullaahi Wa Barakatuh! Awwww, thanks for the warm welcome! It makes me feel fuzzier than my warm, fuzzy socks do!
    😆 WordPress came up with a vamped-up theme with built-in headers just in time. Now I can take my time about the new Ramadan banner 😛 Also can take my time about my own new springtime banner.

    eshev, Wa Alaikum Salaam Wa Rahmatullaahi Wa Barakatuh! JazakiAllah khair! I just visited your blog last night, and so happy I am that you’re back too. Also, it makes me feel just a little bit less strange about my own hiatus, my sister in blog absenteeism! *hugs*

    [[[ x smiley x ]]], Thank you, darling! Happy to be back!

  7. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Assalaamu alaikum,

    I was still popping in from time to time and keeping you on my blog surfer in the hopes that you would reappear and you have, alhamdu lillah!

    Great to see your posts and looking forward to a few more before you decide to disappear for another break! lol. Hope you are feeling fitter now after that bout of maladies. 🙂 xxx

    • Wa Alaikum Salaam, Umm Ibrahim
      Awwwww, jazakiAllah khair for not deleting me from your blog surfer!

      I’ll try to manage a few more months before I take another of my famous sabbaticals 😛 I’m thinking slow and steady might be the best approach to delaying burnout 🙂

      xoxoxo

Comments are closed.