Wanting More

I was going to blog about a completely different topic, but I changed my mind as I was looking at this new theme that WordPress has just rolled out. (I think this might turn out to be a two-post day.) Fittingly enough, the theme is called Twenty-Ten, and since this is really my first blog post of 2010, I was happy to see that the theme is actually very blogger-friendly. After all, just yesterday, I was wishing that there was a good theme on here with footer widgets as well as sidebar widgets and changeable headers, plus a font size that is not excessively small, and background changeability, and all wrapped up in a theme that is crisp and uncluttered. And, voila, here comes this theme. It even has drop-down menus (which you can’t see until I have sub-pages)! Happy days, right?

Nope. Cloudy, gray, cold days. (Maybe I exaggerate, but please do take into consideration that the sun has yet to burst free.) WP even took the initiative to provide a selection of default image headers, so that I don’t have to rush headlong into a Photoshopping spree. Yet, it’s not enough. See those links on the sidebar? They’re blue, and I can’t change the color. That bugs me. In addition, the font isn’t quite…right. If it has to be a serif font, why couldn’t it be Georgia, or Garamond? Why does it have to be Times New Roman? I hate Times New Roman with a passion that you will not believe, yet here I sit with it on my blog, my very own hallowed ground. And the font on these posts? I’d really prefer a sans serif font, like a Trebuchet preferably. But no.

And that, my friends, is life in a nutshell. We can get everything we wished for, and as soon as we do, we realize there was just one, or two, or three more things we could have added to the wish-list. Or maybe I’m just excessively greedy, and impossible to please. That’s a distinct possibility.

Am I alone here in the “wanting for more” category?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Thats Life!, Think About It and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wanting More

  1. Umm Afraz says:

    Assalaamu Alaikum wa Rahmathullahi wa Barakaathuhu.

    Ahem..girl..thats man’s nature…greediness…wanting more….even before you close the door of one particular desire, the other one (and/or more!) is open…beckoning you towards the light of greed…I guess we homo sapiens (spelling?!) are never satisfied with the here and now..

    sheesh…I make it sound so philosophical! 😆

    anywhoo…oh yeah! I dont like Times New Roman too! blech! I prefer Garamond, Georgia, Verdana, or even plain Tahoma is better than TNR!!!!

    hmph! now that I am done with my frustration..

    Wassalaam! 😀

    • Wa Alaikum Salaam Wa Rahmatullaahi Wa Barakatuh, Umm Afraz; lol it is kind of a philosophizing situation. I like the way you put it when you say “even before you close the door of one particular desire, the other one (and/or more!) is open…beckoning you towards the light of greed.” Although, it really is more of a tunnel of greed!

  2. Umm Ibrahim says:

    Assalaamu alaikum,

    She’s baaaaaaack! Welcome back sis!!

Comments are closed.