This Has Been a Busy Week

…and in the midst of the busy-ness, it occurred to me that just because you can do something, doesn’t mean you should. Now, I’m not speaking of bad or on-the-fringe-of-bad things to do. I’m talking about those completely well-intentioned projects we decide to shoulder because we either can’t say no for the guilt it plagues us with, or because we like a little bit of inopportune challenge, or maybe a combination of the two reasons.

Last week, our new camera arrived, and this week we’ll be going away to the Mid-West for a course my brother is interested in taking. We decided to go by car, all of 2000 miles, and of course road trip means Camera Must Be Packed. Since I purchased an additional lens and a few filters and a couple spare sets of batteries, and these are all relatively sensitive things that should be packed properly, I needed a camera bag to pack it all into. Of course, in the course of looking around for an appropriate gadget bag, we found those that were too small, too large, just right but can’t be shipped in time, or simply perfect but too expensive. My brother, while looking at the one I was considering which was both slightly weird looking but just the right price, said, “You can make those,” pointing to the ones that were too expensive.

And I, like an idiot, agreed. Now, don’t get me wrong. I could do it. But there was absolutely no reason for me to cop to it. Except for the fact that I did not want something that looked like a glorified lunch pail. Pride cometh before the falleth*, people. If I could tell you the amount of grief it put me through, to do simple things like stitch in pockets, put in the zipper, and the mother of all battles: putting in the foam, I would. But I can’t, because a) I have too much respect for your sanity, and b) more honestly, I’ve got a trip that I still need to finish packing for.

I will leave you with this, though: Just because you can does mean you should. Coz then you know you really could. Yes, I’m glad I went through the grief. Next time, I know what to do to make my task easier. Oh, look, there will be a next time!

*falleth isn’t a word, is it?

About Digital Nomad

Professional blog-hopper
This entry was posted in Lets Get Personal, Thats Life!, Think About It. Bookmark the permalink.